Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was the 2nd year I made this recipe. This year I followed another reviewer and put all of my ingredients in my mixer and mixed everything until smooth. I baked 4 pounds of sweet potatoes which equaled 4 cups. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg and a little more brown sugar (couple of teaspoons-to taste). Last year, I was told that it was okay-it could have been sweeter but that was my fault because I totally screwed the topping up. However, this year I made it again and EVERYONE loved it. The topping was delicious, the potatoes were so smooth and creamy. I will probably cut back on the butter (maybe 3/4 stick of butter-rather than an entire stick) for the topping but besides that it was soooooo yummy. Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2BAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
my family said they love these... I might take the title over for best sweet potoates!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Wagner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I am not a fan of sweet potatoes but my mom requested a sweet potato dessert for Thanksgiving one year. I made this and my parents loved it! Since then, it is requested by them every Thanksgiving. It does taste good! Using other people's suggestions, this is what I change: Omit 1/2 c. of white sugar. Use 1 Tablespoon of vanilla, 3 extra large eggs and add more butter, 3 tsp of cinnamon, and maybe about 2 tsp of nutmeg. Bring butter up to room temp & cube it. Mix with the other topping ingredients until the butter was well blended, there should be no loose flour or sugar. You MUST leave it in until the topping is crisp on the edges and firm in the middle. I like doubling the praline top recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Moss
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
A huge hit every year at Thanksgiving! As with all other recipes on this site, I modify them for size as well as add my own personal touches. For starters, I add 2 tsp Cinnamon as well replacing the White Sugar with Agave Syrup. Leaving some of the potatoes a bit chunky is also a favorite. Anyone who has every had an aversion to eating Sweet Potato Casserole does a 180 and ends up raving about this one! It is one of the first items we end up running out of every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TexasAmmethyst
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
My whole family loved it! I ate it for dessert, it is so sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
WARNING! Don't make this for your holiday table unless you are willing to make it EVERY year for the the REST of your LIFE! I've made this for at least ten years, it is such an enormous hit that now every TG and Xmas I am under strict orders to make this. I will add that every year there are fewer pies and sweets brought to the table because everyone fills up on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Photo by SheCook
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Terrific! Never made sweet potatoes before and it was amazing. I used 3 eggs, 1 Tbs of vanilla and added just a touch of spice. The family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is the second Thanksgiving I have made these delicious sweet potatoes, tonight many people raved about it. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe. It's wonderful as is but I added orange zest, light sea salt, cut back the vanilla extract a bit and replaced it with a light splash of orange juice and VSOP Remy. Increased bake time to set 15 minutes more. Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I've made this every year for Thanksgiving for several years, and it's always a huge hit. In the past, I always followed it to the letter. This year, I forgot to buy heavy cream, but happened to have half and half on hand. I made the substitution and nobody noticed. I have decided to keep that change to save the calories and fat a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I make a version of this too, but do not add any sugar or flour, but add 1 cup of shredded coconut to sweet potato mixture. OOOHH so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Coone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States