Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
AWESOME food for the soul. My husband is from the South and he loves this dish. My kids love it too! Almost too good! It's almost like a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanovich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is my most asked for dish. OMG!!!!!! it is soooo good. I could eat the whole thing by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I have made these at the holidays for about 3 years in a row now and they are always asked for again. Make sure to choose a large dish for baking, as potato mixture will pouf a bit while cooking. I bake my sweat potatos the day before, mix and refridgerate until next day. Pop in the oven when the turkey comes out to rest and be carved, works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
If I could give this 10 stars, I would. This is my favorite sweet potato recipe I've ever tried! I followed the recipe exactly, and it wasn't quite done at 30 minutes, so I cranked the heat up on the oven and gave it 5 or so minutes at 450 to crisp up the topping. My fiance who will "eat everything......except sweet potatoes" said this was amazingly delicious and had a HUGE helping after trying mine. I can't give it higher praise than that! I served this as a side dish to some deep fried catfish filets for an awesome Southern-style meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I took this to Christmas dinner at the in-laws and it was very good. Not great, but worth making. I did add ground ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon to the potatoes when I creamed them. I think that really helped it a lot! I also took the advice of others and 1 1/2 times the topping, but it did not need that much. The recipe is fine as written. Thanks for the recipe, Mike. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecolter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Great recipe my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cordova, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This will be the third year I've made these sweet potatoes. Every year my family demands that I bring them. However, I felt the potatoes were a little lacking. This year I added about some five spice powder and fresh ground nutmeg (just enough to add a little bit of flavor). I think it gives the potatoes a little extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I made so many changes I almost feel bad writing a review. But it was the praline topping that got my attention. It's just that my family likes sweet potatoes that aren't so rich 'n' sweet that they take over the meal. I cut in half the amount of sugar, vanilla and cream and reduced the egg by one. I even reduced the brown sugar by 1/4 c. Okay, I added nutmeg, cinnamon and melted butter to the potatoes. And let me say it was delicious!! Thanks to the "guidelines" of this recipe, I now have the PERFECT dish for my family. (I made the mistake of giving the tiny bit of leftovers to my sister-in-law. Note to self: double this next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Very yummy but I accidently melted the butter when I wasn't supposed to but it still turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States