Praline-Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This dessert is so beautiful! I just loved the presentation. It actually is a lot easier than it looks. When I looked closely at the ingredients I realized I actually had everything but the cones, heavy cream, and puff pastry. Puff pastry is pricey, but the recipe uses only 1 of the 2 sheets in the pack. I layed it out on a Silpat sheet and dusted both sides with flour as suggested. It was very easy to work with, to cut and shape. I realized too late that the cones were only used as a mold. Although, they do work great and the puff pastry pops right off immedietly, cream horn molds would have worked well too. I forgot the sugar topping until the last 7 minutes of cooking. I quickly sprinkled 1 Tblsp on them, and popped them back in the oven, and it worked fine. I used a 1M tip to pipe the pumpkin mousse and it was perfect for filling them quickly and easily. I had bottled Hershey's caramel syrup and didn't want to go out and buy something thicker, in a jar or make something, so I just used that. It was less of a drizzle, but worked fine for me. I also, didn't bother to toast the nuts. I personally, find them bitter when done that way. It saved time too. I would be happy taste and appearance wise to serve this to a small dinner party, especially for Fall or Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Crafters will love making this! The directions to this lovely dessert are clear, and it's easy to make, too! I found that regular foil in about 4" wide pieces worked great with the cones that I used (Keebler). I did find that at 13 minutes of baking the high points of the cornucopias started browning too much while the rest of the bodies weren't quite done yet, so I quickly covered the tops with foil to keep them from burning. I filled a quart freezer bag with the mousse and cut the corner to fill the cornucopias. I used Trader Joe's wonderful Fleur de Sel Caramel Sauce for the glaze, and I went a little scant on that. Very nice dessert for a special occasion! Thanks for this recipe! It can lead to a variety of variations for future use, and I'll keep the cones for that very purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
FANTASTIC!!! The idea of using the sugar cones to make the 'cornucpias' is absolute genius, and worked perfectly. The mousse filling is to die for, and I could've eaten the entire bowl, lol, but I'm glad I didn't! These look like a dessert that you may have to spend a lot of time on, but it really couldn't be easier. These will definitely be making an appearance on my Thanksgiving dessert table, not only this year, but from now on~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Lovely presentation for a "special" meal dessert. I agree with the other reviewers that the instructions are very clear about how to make the cornucopias. The foiled cones actually popped out a little bit from the puff pastry while cooking, making them very easy to remove and leaving perfectly-shaped pastry cones. And the pumpkin mousse is light and just delicious. I made the caramel sauce last night, baked the cornucopias and popped them in a zip lock bag, mixed up the mousse this morning, and filled the cones. Followed the recipe to the letter, and the only thing I did differently was sprinkle the cones with a cinnamon-sugar mixture rather than just sugar. These definitely have a little bit of a "wow" factor without a whole lot of effort. Of course, the puff pastry cones are so neutral in flavor that the possibilities for other fillings are unlimited, so let your imagination run wild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Excellent! Very easy, and that's coming from someone who is a klutz with a pastry bag. Added 1/8 tsp nutmeg and a dash of ground cloves to the mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These are delicious, and do make a beautifully presented dessert! I found it easier to wrap the strips one at a time instead of pinching two together like the directions state. The mousse is heavenly! You could serve it alone in a parfait glass with a drizzle of caramel and chopped pecans, but the puffed pastry cornucopia is what makes this a special dessert. Fun for kids (older ones can help make this in the kitchen) and fun for adults as well. I could see this bringing families together and settling feuds in time for the holidays! Haha, really, it's fabulous, thanks for sharing such a neat idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These were fantastic...what a wow factor to the end of a dinner. I made the 'horns' in the morning, then the moose and put them together - do ahead and refrigerate. Then just heated the carmel and added the pecans. Only changes I made were added pumpkin pie spice and some brown sugar. I did use sugar free jello and splenda in place of the sugar. Did as one last reviewer suggested and topped with a splenda/cinnimon mix on the 'horns'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Great Idea! These were amazing. We loved them. My daughter has requested them for her birthday which is on Thanksgiving this year. Next time I will make a double batch to make sure everyone has some. They disappear fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Clear instructions, delicate flavor, perfectly scaled serving for a great finish to a meal. Though clear, there are quite a lot of steps, so this is definitely for those with the patience and the time to devote to a confection. Do not skimp on the caramel topping, because it absolutely makes this dessert. Sorry to come to an empty plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have been bumped up from merely being "deviled egg girl" to also being "dessert girl" this Thanksgiving, an honor I intend to do justice, so I gave these a trial run tonight. The instructions are very clear, and the video makes them even more so. Since this is a sponsored recipe, I probably shouldn't mention that I made my own puff pastry for this endeavor, but there, I said it! The filling is amazing- who knew something so simple could be so wonderful? I need to invest in a pastry bag and some tips as I have nothing but trouble with the snipped bag method. Others don't seem to, but I can never get it right. Therefore, for the big day I think I will use a small spoon to fill the shells most of the way, and then use the bag to attempt to make the lovely flourish at the end. I will also make my own caramel sauce instead of the jarred kind. I can not say enough good things about this dessert- incredibly delicious, delicate and flaky, and impressive and professional looking to boot. And simple! Unbelievable how easy! As others have stated, once you know the method, the possibilities are truly endless- and I don't know about you, but I find that exciting! I can't wait to make my debut as dessert girl this Thanksgiving- I will be so proud to serve these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States