Praline Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Wonderful and easy to make. I didn't have rum flavoring so I put pecan liqueur instead in both the cheesecake and the topping. I will definitely do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I baked this for a gathering and everyone said that it was excellent! I'm going to put rum instead of rum extract the next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is easy to make and came out well. I used a ready-made graham cracker crust (would suggest large size crust) and this worked great and saved time. However, it had too much butterscotch flavor for my taste, and next time I will cut rum and vanilla flavoring down by half. Also, will not add maple flavoring for topping, as didn't need it and was expensive to buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This recipe was very good. Instead of chopping the pecans that you put into the cheesecake mix, I would recommend putting them through the food processor. The bigger chunks of pecan really distracted from the smooth, creamy taste of the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Was easy and looked good. We didn't like the rum taste AND I halfed the rum amount in both the filling and topping. I doubled the crust recipe and the crust was delicious and the right amount. I also did the water bath method and used a regular cake pan greased good with wax paper on the bottom. For the final 10 minutes I actually turned the oven off and left the cheesecake in for an hour and half since I needed to run errands and wanted to make sure it was set. We chilled for about 5 hours and cut with a warmed up knife. It presented itself well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Fabulous, creamy, caramel-like cheesecake. The brown sugar gives it a rich, buttery flavor, and the addition of the pecans in the crust is a must. I almost skipped these because my kids don't like nuts, but I am so glad that I didn't. The crust was so good. I upped the cream cheese to 3 packages - 2 reduced fat, 1 regular. I did not make the topping because I didn't have enough sour cream. Instead, we just had a scoop of whipped cream on top. Will for sure keep this one handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Phenomenal. I can't say enough about how good this cheesecake is. It's one of the best ones I have made, and I have tried making quite a few, it's my favorite food. That and pecan pralines, so to have a recipe combining my two favorite things...heavenly. I made a few changes just for personal preference - made an extra half batch of the crust, as I like a thicker graham crust with my cheesecakes. Cut down the rum in the batter to 1/2 tsp. Used all the maple flavoring called for in the recipe but cut down the rum in the topping to 1/4 tsp. Husband doesn't usually partake in my sweets but he did today and said it was fabulous. I think it's one of the best cheesecakes I have ever made, hands down. It is essential to bake in a water bath. Try this recipe, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was a lovely cheesecake. Some reviewers commented that it was too rummy, I strongly disagree. I felt like I could barely taste the rum. That being said, I did not do the sour cream topping. I always feel that sour cream toppings take away from a cheesecake rather than add. But it did have more rum in it, so that may be where the comments came from. Then again, when I was 5, I was also the kid who had rum raisin ice cream as her favorite, so I enjoy rum flavoring. All in all, it was great. I served it to a group of people, all with positive comments. A couple said it was my best cheesecake so far. One commented that he thought it would be good with some vanilla ice cream. Another asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
To me this is the best cheesecake we have ever tasted! I have made it 5 times now and it has always turned out perfect. Everyone that has tasted it wants the recipe. I had never had a praline cheesecake untill my husband asked me to make one for a friends Birthday. Glad I came here first and found this one! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
A really easy-to-make cheesecake with a great caramelly flavour (thanks to the brown sugar). This was the first time I made a cheesecake, two girlfriends and I made it together and it was a lovely treat on a rainy afternoon. We loved the nuts in the base and the maple flavour on the top. I'm going to try a thicker middle layer next time (by using maybe 1.5 times the ingredients for the middle layer) for a taller cheesecake. But it was lovely the way it was described in the recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States