Prairie Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
AWESOME!!! This meatloaf was amazing. It was better than my mom's and hers is great. It appears that Rebekkah at the bottom doesn't know how to cook because mine was gone within the hour and was asked to make it again next week. Again, AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My family loved this meatloaf. I sauted the onions and celery before adding to the meat mixture. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
this meatloaf was ok, to mushy for my family. I think it was the oatmeal making the texture mushy, but we ate it with no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Fantastic! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is that it did crumble a bit while serving. But after dinner, and while I was storing the leftovers, and it had a chance to cool a bit, it didn't crumble at all! The only change I made was added 1/2 cup of crumbled bacon bits, just in case it didn't have enough calories! lol! Make sure to drain the fat out of the loaf pan before serving. I usually love meatloaf topped with ketchup, but I resisted topping the loaf with it and the flavor held its own without it! Although I couldn't resist completely and put a dab of ketchup on the side of my plate to dip in. I didn't use it however! Have to admit I was VERY nervous about adding the entire amount of oats, but after mixing them ALL with the hot liquid and after baking, you barely could tell they were there! But I do think they added a lot of flavor and texture! I wrapped and froze the second loaf for a future meal! Great recipe! It will be my new go-to meatloaf recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I agree with earlier reviewer. We cut receipe in half and followed carefully. Meatloaf came out soggy and bland. I would not make this again. It was a waste of time and money. There are many much better receipes for meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I'm always on the lookout for different ways to make old favorites and I really liked this. But beware...this makes a HUGE meatloaf. I didn't read ahead to see how much meat it called for until I had already started. But we can use the leftovers for lunches. I only had about 1 1/2 cups of cheese and that seemed to be enough. I didn't put any on top. I might cut back on the celery next time as I found it a bit too strong but all in all, this tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
wonderful, wonderful....from reading reviews I cut back a little on the beef broth, I used lean ground beef as the recipe called for. I can't understand why others had "loose" texture for their meat loaf. Maybe they didnt use lean beef as suggested. If using regular hamburger I could understand the fat in hamburger meat making the meat loaf and not binding as it should???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I give this 3 stars because it needs some adjusting. The first thing I would do differently (and I did the 2nd time) was to use ground turkey instead of beef to make it healthier. For those that found it loose.. I'll tell ya why. The broth is unneeded, go lighter on the cheese and make sure you buy a good cheese or else you will get a greasy taste to it. My biggest thing.. a meat loaf should always start with your meat room in a large bowl, dump everything on top of it and MIX WITH YOUR HANDS! Every meat loaf I've ever had that was delish was mixed by hand. If you dont want to put your bare hands in then put on some gloves like you wear when you color your hair or see at the doctors office. You will see a world of difference if you mix it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Yonkman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is great! I took it a step further. I rolled the entire mix to an inch thick and squared it out. Then I added 6 cups cooked mashed potatoes and wrap meat around and seal. Place meatloaf in large pan and bake on 350 for 2 hours. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I customized this by using quinoa instead of oatmeal for more nutrition. Sauteed the onion & celery and used fat free cheese. Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States