Prairie Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
A wonderful recipe, but why all the steps to prepare it? I put everything but the meat into a large bowl. Mix that up well and then add the meat. If your kids won't eat chunks of anything like onion. put the broth into the blender with whatever veggies you like (onion, peppers, celery, etc.), and blend. You get all the flavor and nutrition. There are only two of us, but I make the whole recipe, divide the finished meat loaf into 6 portions; put 5 of them into Tupperware square rounds and put them into the freezer. Then we can have meatloaf at the drop of a hat, whenever I can't think of whatever else to have for dinner. I love having something this good without having to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I was a little skeptical during preparation because of the all the oatmeal, but it was delicious! I've tried 100's of meatloaves and are always just "okay", but, this one my husband even claimed to be better than his Mother's Famous Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I HATE meatloaf...I LOVED this meatloaf! I cut receipe in half (two eggs), used a 9 X 13" glass pan, lined bottom of pan with bread slices. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This recipe is fabulous- it has been named the "best meatloaf ever" in our house. It has great flavor and did not crumble. My changes- I halved the recipe and also added minced carrots. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I think that this is the worst meatloaf I have ever had or made. I was embarrassed to serve this to my husband. it smelled great cooking, but came out bland, mushy, and with a horrible texture. there is no saving this recipe. I can't believe I wasted money, food and time on this disaster. Does anyone know what meatloaf is supposed to taste like? apparently not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
There is no messing up this recipe! I also cut the recipe in half (6 servings) and added Monterey jalapeño cheese for a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraNOh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This was ok, the flavor was great but I found that the cheese made it greasy. I will try this again using ground turkey to reduce the fat and less cheese baked in. Other than that, this recipe has the best flavor and texture I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hagerman, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is very good. My meatlof came out a bit "loose" and broke easily when I tried to remove it from the pan. The taste was good and DH really liked it. I love the addition of the oatmeal for fiber, but wonder if that led to it falling apart. I'm sure I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
wife swore she did not like meat loaf she loved it very juicy added bacon to top for extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Finally found a meatloaf recipe my son likes. I prefer a little BBQ sauce or ketchup on top so I will make that addition the next time. Also I sauteed the onion and celery, again personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States