Power Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
These cookies were great (even the uncooked dough). I did make a couple of changes. I pureed the beans with 1 cup of apple sauce and 1/2 cup of prunes - couldn't find dates. And I also added dried cranberries and cherries into the batter at the end. The cookies were so moist and healthy and delicious, I am definately making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
can't believe this recipe got almost five stars!! Sara Sue must have left out the liquid ingredients!!!! I had to add two cups of rice milk to the recipe to get it out of the 'brick stage'...and I didn't even add all the ingredients...I wonder if one can of beans can absorb four cups of oatmeal that has been ground up???? Something is dreadfully wrong with this recipe. Would like her to fix it and get back to me because it has possibilities!! thanks. PS: I think the problem with it was the instructions of 'dropping by the spoonfuls' onto the baking sheet. There's no way you can 'drop' this batter..it's like cement. Should have read:"roll up into a log and cut in half inch widths"!!!! george maloof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Yum!! I was skeptical about bean paste cookies, but these are fantastic! I altered the recipe after reading other reviews. 1. ground up the oats with the coconut (I like coconut flavor but not texture!), 2. added 3 teaspoons of ground flax seed, 3. added 1 cup apple sauce for moisture, and 4. used prunes instead of dates and dried cranberries and blueberries instead of raisins. These are amazing! I will make them again with mini chocolate chips as a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I added 1/2 cup of soy milk (as the recipe was a little too dry), and increased the dates to 1 cup. I got 22 cookies out of the recipe. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
These cookies tasted fantastic and healthy, but like everyone else, I had to add about 1 1/2 cups of liquid just to bring the dough to the proper consistency. I used 1/2 cup each of applesauce, egg beaters, and skim milk. I also used dried pineapple instead of dates and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and 1 tsp almond extract...yummm! I eat these every day before my workout to give me some energy to burn! They're also great for breakfast when I'm in a hurry. Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made these the first time just to see what a cookie with beans as the main ingredient would be like. We liked the first attempt well enough to make again with tweaking - have made 4 times now & here are my final tweaks: 2 tsp vanilla, 2 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 C raisins & 3/4 C applesauce. Without doubling the vanilla & cinnamon, cookies were just sweet with no flavor. The applesauce adds enough liquid to make the dough workable - 3/4 C raisins is just because we like raisins - I imagine many other dried fruits could probably be substituted. It's important to not mix the dough one second more than necessary as over mixing results in a tough, spongy cookie. I scoop the cookies out with a tablespoon & flatten them a bit once they're on a parchment lined cookie sheet. I usually get about 45 cookies & in my oven 15 minutes is the perfect time for baking. Great with coffee! These are not free food, however. I did a rough estimate of calories, carbs, protein & fiber & the calorie/carb to protein/fiber ratio, while better than an Oreo, is not in a dieter's favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I was looking for a high protein/fiber cookie to eat after dinner to help me avoid snacking. After reading the reviews, I added 3 egg whites and 1/2 cup milk and didn't add nuts. I had to bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes for the cookies to be brown. Still very tasty and moist inside. I am storing in cookie tins with waxed paper while still warm to keep them moist. Yield: 30 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
A very interesting cookie.Usually I will always do a first time recipe exact and then alter it to my liking, but after reading reviews and seeing the lack of moisture in the recipe I decided to add 1 cup of applesauce. I then added 1/2 cup chocolate(dark) chips less coconut, only the brown sugar and less dates. I like sneaking good things into my teenagers diets as all the want is pizza & Macdonalds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I added 1 cup rice milk and 1 egg, mixed it all well with my hands, spread it out in a large glass baking pan, baked for 25 minutes, and am now enjoying a piece. I love that these are high fiber, and they taste good, but it's true that it needs liquid/binder. Once you add liquid, you can make it as cookies or spread it out and cut it into "bars."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
WOW! I made some adjustments, but these are amazing, and totally allergen-free if you leave out the walnuts! I used: 3 1/2 cups oatmeal added 1/4 cup margarine 1 banana 3/4 cup dried currants and red kidney beans instead of cannellini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States