Power Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Absolutely delicious, very soft and moist! They are a perfect camping/hiking snack. The only variations I made were I added a ripe banana to the bean and sugar mixture, I used pecans instead of walnuts, and I didn’t add coconut. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karebearfluff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This would have 5 stars, but along with everyone else here, I added about a cup or more of liquid (vanilla soy milk) to the mix. Next time, I'll prob add a beaten egg white too. I also added mini dark chocolate chips, dried cherries, and chopped pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Could the missing ingredient be eggs? After reading the reviews I added almond milk to moisten it but also added an egg to half the batch. The egg batch had a better texture and taste. I think next time I'll add some coconut oil too or maybe applesauce or prunes--it needs something to replace the lack of fat. A really good idea (adding the beans) and the dough is tasty--one good thing about egg free is the kids can eat it w/ no worries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
these were amazing. i only had red kidney beans and figured i'd give them a try. i put the beans and a 1/2 cup of plain soy milk in the food processor and added that mixture to the dry ingredients. i also added 1/2cup bittersweet chocolate chips instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
No one could tell there were beans in these cookies, and when I told them they still didn't believe me!! I even got some adventurous children to eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
A very interesting cookie.Usually I will always do a first time recipe exact and then alter it to my liking, but after reading reviews and seeing the lack of moisture in the recipe I decided to add 1 cup of applesauce. I then added 1/2 cup chocolate(dark) chips less coconut, only the brown sugar and less dates. I like sneaking good things into my teenagers diets as all the want is pizza & Macdonalds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Wow!! who ever thought beans in cookies could be so good. Like everyone else though, I did need to add soy milk. Next time I make them, I think I will try to replace the sugar with agave necter, sweet and it will add some necessary moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I added 1/2 cup of soy milk (as the recipe was a little too dry), and increased the dates to 1 cup. I got 22 cookies out of the recipe. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
It obviously needed liquid. I added 2 cups soy milk and only 1/2 c. honey instead of sugar. More sugar was added due to the dried fruits I used. Sweet enough for me, I don't like to sweet. I also added more things like pumkin seeds, sesame and wheat germ istead of coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I, too, had high hopes for this recipe since they are high protein, high fiber and fat free. But, I also think the liquid was omitted. The recipe "as is" creates a "granol looking" mix that I felt should be spread on a cookie sheet and baked then eaten as cereal! I ended up adding 1/4 cup orange juice and 1/4 cup melted butter so I could work with the dough. The resulting cookies were good, but, I hope the person who submitted it will correct the recipe as I wonder what they are really supposed to be like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States