Powdered Sugar Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This recipe is amazing! I didn't press the cookies flat with a glass dipped in sugar (I was out of granulated and needed some cookies QUICK) so I just pressed them lightly with my fingers. My family doesn't like really crisp cookies so I didn't press them too much. Anyway, they turned out almost like Mexican Wedding Cakes- slightly sweet, sugar cookies that melt in your mouth. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
i love these cookies! they are moist and flavorful. i couldn't give it five stars however because i had to alter it a bit. it needed more powdered sugar, more salt, more vanilla, and i used a bit of granulated sugar for texture and butter instead of shortening. but with all the changes made they came out perfectly. you have to take them out right before they start to brown though, and i refridgerated the dough for about an hour and a half before rolling them which made it A LOT easier. i'd recommend pressing them down just a bit instead of putting them in the oven as balls because you get a better sense of how much they will spread and they come out a little bigger. will be using the changed recipe to make holiday cookies again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This was delicious. I have an allergic daughter and have lost my original recipe, but this one is very close to it. I subbed for the eggs w/an egg replacer and used Fleishman's unsalted margarine instead of butter flavored shortening. We make cut-out hearts and decorated w/sprinkles for her Valentines Day party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
FINALLY!!! The cookie recipe I've been searching for forever! I've tried so many recipes and this is THE ONE. Made perfect melt in your mouth bakery quality amazing cookies. No burnt bottoms and spread perfectly! I'm so happy!!THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Wow I just made these and they are wonderful and SOFT. I rolled into balls and flatten then with my hand, add deco sugar and bake. These are a hit ..you can also use other flavoring like almond, lemon etc if you want a different taste. I use homemade vanilla extract ...5 stars for this winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shingletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
oh these cookies are heavenly! thanks for the melt-in-your-mouth recipe. they will be amazing too with some homemade buttercream icing... i followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These roll out and cut well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malloryrh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
My 3 yr old son wanted to make sugar cookies for his halloween party. This recipe was easy for him to roll the balls. And they tasted great! Melt in your mouth! ;p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
These were great! My husband's family who hate sweets actually liked them. They are very light and airy and melt when bite into them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powers Lake, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Dough too sticky, even after refrigerating. Finished product too cake like, fall apart easily. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States