Powdered Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I used a Magic Bullet and did batches of 1 cup each. It took about a minute per batch and the consistency and taste is exactly that of store-bought confectioner's sugar. Absolutely brilliant - will use every time from now on! PS - Someone below asked why there is cornstarch in it. It is because that is how confectioner's sugar is made and it will affect the outcome/consistency of your icing, etc. if you leave out the cornstarch. It is a necessary ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaNuchols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My go to recipe for powdered sugar! I don't use it much, so when I buy it it always expires before I use much at all! I prefer to make it to save $$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Great! I made it in tiny batches in my coffee grinder, because its all i have... Great recipe, very accurate... Now to make some buckeyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This actually worked! Thanks, it saved me when making some buttercream frosting. I used potato starch for health issues. I blended 1 cup sugar plus 2 Tbsp potato starch at a time. Worked like a charm. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Perfect when done in small batches. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Worked perfectly! I won't be buying powdered sugar again as this is too simple! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
IT WORKED! WOW! I'm so HAPPY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This saved my day! I did it in small batches in my blender as suggested by others and it came out perfect! I may never by Pwderd sugar again, this was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I wouldn't say I'm going to stop buying powedered sugar by any means but this did work and saved my dessert when I realized I was out of the store bought version. I only needed a cup so I scaled back the recipe and wizzed it up in my mini chopper and it worked perfectly. Good to know I can do this should I run into the same problem again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Used 1 cup of white sugar & 2 Tbsp. Potato Starch in a coffee grinder & was done in less than 30 seconds. Have used it many times. I cant have corn so I use the potato starch, thats what powdered sugar was originally made with anyways. Turns out perfect every time, makes great icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States