Powdered Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This may work for some, but did not work at all for me even in a small a batch. My icing is gritty and unusable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This works perfectly. Make in smaller batches unless you have a powerful, higher capacity blender. (Vitamix dry container is amazing for this.) The cornstarch is an anti-caking addition. Please don't leave it out. It is necessary as most frosting recipes will need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
less than 5 minutes - divided in 3 batches - in the blender and we have powdered sugar for the jam cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Moses

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I made this today because i was Out of powder sugar and was in the process of making frosting for my dads birthday cake. I didn't want to go out to the store to buy some so I decided to make half a batch. I used the ninja blender and put it in the highest setting for about 10 minutes, while the sugar did become finer, it did not turn into powder. I put it at the highest level again for another 10 minutes but it was still the same. Thinking it was fine enough I went ahead and prepared the frosting. That was a huge mistake, no matter how much I beat the frosting, it was just too gritty. My ninja blender is new and I have blended whole fruit so I'm not sure what the problem is, it just did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This actually worked! Thanks, it saved me when making some buttercream frosting. I used potato starch for health issues. I blended 1 cup sugar plus 2 Tbsp potato starch at a time. Worked like a charm. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I wouldn't say I'm going to stop buying powedered sugar by any means but this did work and saved my dessert when I realized I was out of the store bought version. I only needed a cup so I scaled back the recipe and wizzed it up in my mini chopper and it worked perfectly. Good to know I can do this should I run into the same problem again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used a food processor and followed the instructions exactly.. I processed each small batch for about 5 minutes. It was almost like powdered sugar, but not quite. Then I tried to use it in frosting and it resulted in gritty butter that I had to throw away. I'll be sticking to store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My go to recipe for powdered sugar! I don't use it much, so when I buy it it always expires before I use much at all! I prefer to make it to save $$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
IT WORKED! WOW! I'm so HAPPY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Works in the magic bullet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States