Poutine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I had poutine for the first time last summer in Canada and thoroughly enjoyed it. I had some really good gravy left over from a pot roast last week which needed to be used, so I thought of poutine. Yes, the real deal does have cheese curds, but tI've never seen them anywhere in my area. I thought the shredded cheddar worked O.K. as a substitute. I used Ore-Ida's Cracked Black Pepper & Sea Salt Frozen Fries which held up well to the gravy. Don't mean to sound snooty, but I would never use canned gravy. However, whenever I have leftover beef gravy, this dish most likely will be made. With the gravy mentioned above and garnished with some sliced green onions, we thought this was 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I tried this recipe, just out of pure curiosity. Sorry, the taste doesn't even come close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I used "Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries" and made my own beef gravy. Having never been to Canada to have the real deal I'm not sure what the actual taste should be. This was good fries with good gravy with good cheese but I kept wishing I was eating cheese fries with bacon, green onion, jalapenos, and ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is probably more appropriately named "Cheese Fries". Poutine is actually made with cheese curds and beef gravy as others have stated. That said, in a pinch, it is a perfectly acceptable substitute and one I can make at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Poutine should be made with a chicken gravy, not beed. St. Hubert makes the best poutine gravy around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Not Poutine! This is just fries smothered in canned gravy and cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This may not be "real" poutine, but for someone who has never eaten the Canadian version, this is really good. I did not use canned gravy. Instead I made the Simple Beef Flavored Gravy recipe from this site. It turned out really good! Thanks for the recipe! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This recipie is not even close to the original and cannot compare.search for the original for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is Not poutine!!! I remember as a child taking a short drive to Huntingdon, quebec just to get poutine. OMG!!! Homemade fries, cheese curds and the best beef gravy. That is the poutine I remember. This is what I can get around Albany and its called disco fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Ths is not "incorrect" If someone makes chili with turkey it's not wrong, it's a different version! French canadians tends to use cheese curds, but everyone I know uses shredded cheese, and I prefer it this way personally! Shredded cheese melts to gooey perfection while curds clump and don't melt as well.. Try cheddar cheese, or marbled for a variation. I just finished eating a big bowl of this and it really hit the spot. Pure Canadian comfort food! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States