Pound Cake with Rum Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very quick, very easy. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is probably the best made-from-scratch rum cake I have found. Much lighter than some and very, very moist. Am sure the omission of salt in recipe is just a mistake and common sense has to prevail. Because we like rum I did substitute 1/4 of the water for rum but, again, that is a taste preference. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is the best cake recipe ever! I've been using it since 2010 and it's a big hit whenever I make it! It's so moist and spongy. I don't change a thing on this recipe! The best thing to do is let the rum sink in overnight before flipping it. It gives it an even better taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia Duran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I didn't notice until later that this recipe didn't call for salt and it ended up very bland. Probably ok if you bake with salted butter or with addition of salt. I did add a little salt to glaze to try and make it up, but this really didn't help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Um...this was awesome. Seriously awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Really good recipe! Cake was absolutely delicious, moist, and spongy, and is even better with the little moist layer the booze-sugar liquid provides. I used amaretto for the soaking ingredient. It only sank down about 1 cm though, although company came and had to serve it quickly. I also used ~1.5 tsp "vanilla sugar" instead of extract, bceause they don't have vanilla extract where i live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was a great and simple recipe. I did not have a bundt pan or pound cake loaf pan, but I was able to make this into a single-layer cake using a 9x13 pyrex pan lined with foil. The rum sauce was awesome and everyone commented on how moist the cake was. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CNCETD
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This cake was quite good. I only used 3 tablespoons of rum and thought that was plenty. I would suggest poking holes in the cake with a knife in order for the rum topping to seem down into the middle of the cake. I poured the topping over the cake and it most of the rum flavor was only around the outside edges of the cake. By making small slits in the cake with a butter knife, the rum flavor would be able to penetrate the middle of the cake as well as the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Very easy to make - a beautifully moist cake - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This is a very moist and tasty pound cake. I added four tablespoons of rum instead of five and it was still very tasty. I served it with a scoop of peppermint ice cream and got WOW'S from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLENE718

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States