Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was a very good Pound Cake. At first I thought using shortning along with butter was a little much. I noticed when I cut the cake,it was hard to cut and tough on the outside but all so moist on the inside.I made a nice Vanilla glaze drizzle.My family enjoyed the cake.My mother said the Cake is more like a Coffee Cake,and that it would go good with Coffee or Cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This was an excellent cake. I made them for my office christmas party and everyone loved them. I did follow the suggestion of creaming the butter, shortening, and sugar together for 25 minutes, the only difference is that I used confectioner's sugar and it became a lot fluffier than granulated sugar, and allowed the butter to get to room temperature. But I do recommend this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I have used this recipe several times and it always makes a great impact. Everyone always raves about this pound cake!!! I have made it in loaf pans and a bundt pan and it comes out great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I read the great reviews and went strictly by the recipe, but the cake didn't taste good to me. The texture was fine, but the taste was too bland. It didn't taste like a typical poundcake that I am used to, like the kind the ladies bake at church bake sales, or the local bakery butter poundcake. I'm not sure why, but the taste simply wasn't there. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicky
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
really moist and sooooo easy to make gr8 cake for making novelty cakes with as it is not too spongy and doesn't fall apart but really moist in the middle gr8 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I would give this pound cake a 10 if I could! It is FABULOUS and moist. (I used two sticks of Blue Bonnett margarine instead of butter.) I am 51 years old and have never made a pound cake in my life, much less one from scratch. I made the first one with a hand mixer a few days before Christmas and got rave reviews at the law firm where I work and my family. Even my neighbor (who considers himself a pound cake expert) was floored by how good this one was. I made two more for a gathering on Christmas eve and my family's Christmas dinner. I have now ordered Kitchenaid stand mixer and plan to make lots and lots more of these fabulous cakes with variations. Thank you so much for putting this recipe on the internet!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was a delicious pound cake.It came out of the oven perfectly and tasted great.I am going to try and make it for the holidays and substitute the milk with eggnog and add mace. I can't wait to try it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
It was simply the best! So this year instead of spending $50 on a birthday cake for my son's party, I'm gonna make this cake! Everyone loved it! Only recommendation, if you don't like real sweet cakes then try cutting the sugar down a tad bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This did not have much flavor and the flavor that it did have was not a hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWEL_ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Wonderful recipe. My husband thought it was an angel food cake. It was so easy to do. I am never good at baking but this one is proving me wrong. Kept the recipe as is, did not change a thing. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arima, Arima Borough, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States