Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This cake was really easy to make and was incredibly well received. Used it as a wedding cake-- HUGE success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Arbios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was a very good Pound Cake. At first I thought using shortning along with butter was a little much. I noticed when I cut the cake,it was hard to cut and tough on the outside but all so moist on the inside.I made a nice Vanilla glaze drizzle.My family enjoyed the cake.My mother said the Cake is more like a Coffee Cake,and that it would go good with Coffee or Cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This was an excellent cake. I made them for my office christmas party and everyone loved them. I did follow the suggestion of creaming the butter, shortening, and sugar together for 25 minutes, the only difference is that I used confectioner's sugar and it became a lot fluffier than granulated sugar, and allowed the butter to get to room temperature. But I do recommend this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I have used this recipe several times and it always makes a great impact. Everyone always raves about this pound cake!!! I have made it in loaf pans and a bundt pan and it comes out great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I read the great reviews and went strictly by the recipe, but the cake didn't taste good to me. The texture was fine, but the taste was too bland. It didn't taste like a typical poundcake that I am used to, like the kind the ladies bake at church bake sales, or the local bakery butter poundcake. I'm not sure why, but the taste simply wasn't there. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicky
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
really moist and sooooo easy to make gr8 cake for making novelty cakes with as it is not too spongy and doesn't fall apart but really moist in the middle gr8 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I would give this pound cake a 10 if I could! It is FABULOUS and moist. (I used two sticks of Blue Bonnett margarine instead of butter.) I am 51 years old and have never made a pound cake in my life, much less one from scratch. I made the first one with a hand mixer a few days before Christmas and got rave reviews at the law firm where I work and my family. Even my neighbor (who considers himself a pound cake expert) was floored by how good this one was. I made two more for a gathering on Christmas eve and my family's Christmas dinner. I have now ordered Kitchenaid stand mixer and plan to make lots and lots more of these fabulous cakes with variations. Thank you so much for putting this recipe on the internet!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was a delicious pound cake.It came out of the oven perfectly and tasted great.I am going to try and make it for the holidays and substitute the milk with eggnog and add mace. I can't wait to try it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
It was simply the best! So this year instead of spending $50 on a birthday cake for my son's party, I'm gonna make this cake! Everyone loved it! Only recommendation, if you don't like real sweet cakes then try cutting the sugar down a tad bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This did not have much flavor and the flavor that it did have was not a hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWEL_ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States