Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Thank you for this recipe! It was wonderful and I used CARTHECOOK's suggestions....divine. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
First time making this forgot the milk, and it still turned out good. A little drier, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POUKALA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I used this recipe for two wedding cakes that I made, based on caption from BROWNEYES230117. Not only is it structurely sound for a tiered wedding cake, it is delicious! I received rave reviews on the moistness and flavor. Over two hundred people tried and loved it. One note: this recipe as is will fill one 12" round pan 2" high. I have also make 1 1/2 the recipe to make four 8" round pans 2" high (generously). I would think it will make three 8" rounds with one batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
i give it a 3 because HOLY MOLY if you really used 3 cups of sugar, i truly cant see how anyone could consume it. i used barely 2 cups sugar and its no where near what REAL POUND CAKE is supposed to taste like. however going by instructions , perfect way to actually make it come together. my advice is lower to say maybe 1 1/2 cups sugar that way you can GLAZE THE THING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Perfect recipe! The only thing is that the cooking time should be reduced to about 50 minutes. I didn't use an icing or glaze. This cake is wonderful as is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is a fantastic pound cake! I did make one substitution in that I used an extra stick of butter instead of the shortening. It does make a lot of batter, so if you really wanted to, you could make three 8" layer cakes, maybe even four. It's also a very dense cake, so a small slice is filling, but it's so delicious! I topped mine with homemade whipped cream frosting and put some strawberries in the center. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMadBaker313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great recipe! I substituted vegetable oil for the shortening and the results were spectacular. This cake was a big hit with my family and friends and has become a permanent part of my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I had to cut down on the sugar as my son found it too sweet Otherwise a very good cake- Thanks Browneyes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This cake was really easy to make and was incredibly well received. Used it as a wedding cake-- HUGE success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Arbios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States