Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I bake breads all the time but have never tried a cake. I used the ingredients in the amounts listed except I used all butter (no shortening) and I followed the directions given by "CARTHECOOK" in her review. I just used regular milk (not soured). My Oh My! What a great airy pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I made a vegan version of this using 'egg replacer' and soya milk mixed with water (60-40 ratio) and the result was a very nice soft cake. Everyone in my family loved it; thx for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
i gave it 5 stars for simplicity and the ability to substitute successfully: While it seems impossible, I made it a mission to make this delectable dessert "healthy-ish." I used 1 cup of Lite ICBINB and 1/4 cup butter (for flavor,) 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of stevia, 3 eggs, 2 tbls of vanilla, 1 cup of skim milk, 3 cups of whole wheat flour, and 3 tbls of cornstarch. I can honestly say that the family loved it and didn't miss a thing...it came out beautifully and tasted oh so sinful. Mission accomplished! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I loved this recipe! I made it in two loaf pans, and it turned out terrific! I followed the recipe exactly, it has great taste and texture and even looks delicious! I will definitely make this again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I love this recipe, it almost taste as good as my grandmother's pound cake. I can not find her recipe, so I will be using this one for now on...My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is the best cake I have ever made.I would make this again and again. I love it. Thank You For The Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folsom, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Well, I didn't make this cake but I did have a piece of the one that Klassy made. Delicious and I will be trying to make one real soon. Some did not like the three cups of sugar but it was fine to me. The cake was not overly sweet. I do agree that it doesn't need any type of glaze...it was perfect as is. I would like to try it with stawberries and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I loved it I totally agree with CarThe Cook...Between the both of you I made a prefect pound cake..I altered by using cake flour instead of flour...and i used 1tsp of almond extract and 11/4 tsp of vanilla extract...as far as the butter, sugar, and shortening I beat it for 15-20 min...and i used heavy cream instead of milk....This was my second time making a pound cake and this was a great great recipe...Love it thank you and thanks to carthecook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klassy1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaba
Living In: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
very good pund cake a little bland tasting but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States