Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
So far the layers are beautiful, first time trying this recipe and I decided to make it a two layer with raspberry flavoring!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I adjusted this cake to a serving size of 50 and it made 2-10in wilton round pans, 2-9-in rounds, and 2 6-inch rounds....this cake was awesome! I made a baby shower cake with it and it ices and stakes great! I got a ton of complements on this cake and several women at the shower wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
It turned out perfect! I picked this recipe because I had all of the ingredients on hand. I used butter-flavored Crisco for the shortening, and it was great! It was perfectly moist, not too dense, and had a beautiful color. I took the advice and covered the cake with foil after the first 20 minutes - a great suggestion - and it was finished in 60 minutes. I had some extra frozen berries I heated up, added a small amount of sugar and lemon juice, and it was amazing! A+ from this baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruiser27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I found the recipe was perfect just the way it is. I read the way carthecook approached it and had considered it, but it seemed like too much & a whole new recipe. I did reduce the sugar from 3 cups to 2 the first time, based on one rating that said it was too sweet; then reduced to 2 & 1/2 cups the second time I baked the cake. The recipe proved itself flawless each time. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingood
Home Town: Harlem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
By far the best pound cake recipe I have come across!! Even though I used only 1 cup of butter no shortening and 2 1/2 cups of sugar it still was fantastic. I had to whip the butter and sugar for about 20 minutes or so and added the eggs one at a time mixing each one in for 30 seconds each. So light and smooth, the crumb was fine mmmmmm just perfect! Great for birthday or wedding cakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Do not let the pan sit for 10 minutes only before putting it on a cooling rack. I NEVER do that, but the directions said to, so I did, and the cake fell to pieces. Our housefull of boys didnt mind, but this mistake drove me absolutely nuts. I was hoping to glaze it as well, but it couldnt happen. Ah, well. Live and learn. Hubby said this tasted better than his mothers, but he may have just been trying to make me feel better about my messy attempt at pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
It is IMPOSSIBLE to mess up this cake recipe! Seriously, I have accidentally doubled the shortening/butter, and once I even accidentally used Bisquick in place of half of the flour. Absolutely delicious, easy, and fool-proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemp, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I have made this recipe twice and everyone has raved about it. I add a little more vanilla, but that is the only change I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made this for a carved 3D airplane cake I was making. The density was perfect and held its shape great. Easy to ice as well! Next time, i will cut back on the sugar as it seemed a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardisty, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Wow!!! Words can not describe this pound cake! My kids loved this recipe. I have other pound cake recipes, but this one is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ansel
Home Town: Riegelwood, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States