Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I have tried other pound cake recipes but this one was the best. The only thing I changed was the amount of sugar, I used 2 cups instead of 3. The taste was just right, I also put a cream cheese glaze over the cake. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Made only two change and used 2 cups of sugar for fear it might be to sweet as said by others and I used 2 loaf pans instead of a bundt pan. It could have used slightly more sugar. The cake is lighter and airy than what I think a pound cake should be. Other than that it was very moist and ok. I think it will change some after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is the perfect pound cake. I have a family recipe that I used to swear by but this is the single greatest pound cake recipe ever. I will never use a different recipe. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
So far the layers are beautiful, first time trying this recipe and I decided to make it a two layer with raspberry flavoring!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I adjusted this cake to a serving size of 50 and it made 2-10in wilton round pans, 2-9-in rounds, and 2 6-inch rounds....this cake was awesome! I made a baby shower cake with it and it ices and stakes great! I got a ton of complements on this cake and several women at the shower wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
It turned out perfect! I picked this recipe because I had all of the ingredients on hand. I used butter-flavored Crisco for the shortening, and it was great! It was perfectly moist, not too dense, and had a beautiful color. I took the advice and covered the cake with foil after the first 20 minutes - a great suggestion - and it was finished in 60 minutes. I had some extra frozen berries I heated up, added a small amount of sugar and lemon juice, and it was amazing! A+ from this baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruiser27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I found the recipe was perfect just the way it is. I read the way carthecook approached it and had considered it, but it seemed like too much & a whole new recipe. I did reduce the sugar from 3 cups to 2 the first time, based on one rating that said it was too sweet; then reduced to 2 & 1/2 cups the second time I baked the cake. The recipe proved itself flawless each time. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingood
Home Town: Harlem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
By far the best pound cake recipe I have come across!! Even though I used only 1 cup of butter no shortening and 2 1/2 cups of sugar it still was fantastic. I had to whip the butter and sugar for about 20 minutes or so and added the eggs one at a time mixing each one in for 30 seconds each. So light and smooth, the crumb was fine mmmmmm just perfect! Great for birthday or wedding cakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Do not let the pan sit for 10 minutes only before putting it on a cooling rack. I NEVER do that, but the directions said to, so I did, and the cake fell to pieces. Our housefull of boys didnt mind, but this mistake drove me absolutely nuts. I was hoping to glaze it as well, but it couldnt happen. Ah, well. Live and learn. Hubby said this tasted better than his mothers, but he may have just been trying to make me feel better about my messy attempt at pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
It is IMPOSSIBLE to mess up this cake recipe! Seriously, I have accidentally doubled the shortening/butter, and once I even accidentally used Bisquick in place of half of the flour. Absolutely delicious, easy, and fool-proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemp, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States