Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
oh my God!!!!! This was my first time ever making a pound cake from scratch and WOW!! Did it come out pretty. I made the one sub which was all butter(1.5 cup) omiting the shortening. And yes PLEASE cover with foil when it turns the perfect color. My nephew told me to cut my last peice because the rest of the cake was his, lol. Oh and make sure you have time to make it. Beat the sugar for at least 25 mins. and bake from a cold oven. Oh and don't forget to lick the bowl!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Excellent pound cake which will be perfect for the wedding cake I'm about to make ! I used all butter instead of butter and shortening and reduced the milk by about 40ml since butter has 15% water compared to shortening. Also reduced sugar to 2 1/4 cups. As with other reviewers, had to cover the cake at about 40 min. since the crust was already browned and only cooked it for just over an hour. Very moist, soft, fine crumb cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
EXCELLENT RECIPE. Just follow the instructions for a perfect cake. I set the timer on the oven and I got a moist cake perfect cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I made this cake for a birthday dinner. It was perfect! Its really easy and tastes great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was easy to make and turned out perfect. I do not bake much and my co-workers were very impressed. Moist, not too sweet. I used a recipe for lemon glaze that I found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Very good. My husband loved it! I served it with fresh strawberries and whipped cream, but it was really good all by itself too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Great basic recipe. I cut back the sugar and covered with foil early in the baking process as advised by reviewers. Turned out beautifully and served with strawberries and whipped cream. Definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHCRIPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I've made this twice with rave reviews. It is wonderful served with cut strawberries in a sugar/water solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffaney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Awesome cake, great taste and texture! It's not unusual to have to cover a bundt cake part way thru cooking...but it's well worth it! My new staple white cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Made it exactly as the recipe showed...The top did brown up quick in about 40 minutes so I covered it with foil. It was done in a little over an hour. Very moist- not too sweet like other reviewers have commented...I'll make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States