Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Amazing recipe ! I creamed sugar and butter for 20 minutes and used butter instead of shortening , I found it too sweet since I prefer the sweetness in Korean / Chinese cakes so next time will reduce the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made this recipe into cupcakes (I stopped at 24 and threw the rest of the batter away). WAY TOO MUCH SUGAR. The bottom of my cupcake papers were VERY oily. The tops of the cupcakes were crunchy and flat. The insides were a beautiful light and fluffy texture. Not sure if baking as cupcakes instead of a cake made a difference, but I am not going to try again to find out. EDIT--9/23/14--Had to come back and change my rating. Tasted these again last night and this morning and what a difference in the taste! Still just a little too sweet, so will cut back a LITTLE on the sugar. The tops of my cupcakes have turned out to be my favorite part--not crunchy now, kind of a chewy texture (not sure how to describe). I did not put any frosting on them. Just wish they weren't flat. Might be something I did. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I cut down the sugar to one cup..... taste much better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Great recipe for the classic pound cake. Dense, tender, fine crumb; deliciously adorned with nothing more than sweet vanilla flavor. Well-written, accurate directions. I scaled the recipe down to six servings which yielded 12 cupcakes that I baked at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Was very good and lighter than usual pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
It came out nice and fluffy. Modified the serving size to 6 as I only had two eggs, baked in a loaf pan and it was ready in 40 minutes. I also followed CARTHECOOK suggestions. I only used butter and next time I'll reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Wow tried this recipe last night and it is awesome!!! followed everythig to the letter. my Daughter was sitting at the table when i cut this cake and i gave her a small piece she was looking at me like can i have another piece very moist and tasty cake!!!oh and i drizzled lemon icing on top very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I just made this cake and we love it! It is the perfect Pound Cake recipe. I did take the advice of one reviewer and I cut the sugar down to 2-1/2 cups, I also baked mine on 325o, it took about an hour and 15 minutes, and it turned out moist and Delicious! You can add any flavoring, nuts, chocolate chips, to this recipe and personalize it to your taste! LOVE IT! Cemerick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was my first time baking a cake from scratch, and I loved it! My oven bakes this cake just right in 45 minutes. I usually make two cakes with this recipe because the batter is too much for one 12 cup bundt pan. My only complaint is that I need more people to bake for. I would eat way too much if I made this cake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made this cake twice, loved it! Moist and delicious. My oven runs a little hot so I reduced bake time to 60 min. turned out GREAT. I adjusted the recipe to make a Christmas wreath cake. I substituted 10oz of egg whites for the eggs to give me a white pound cake and I substituted 1/2 of the vanilla with peppermint extract. Prior to adding to the pan I removed half of the batter putting it into 2 bowls to which I added red and green food coloring. Then put half the remaining batter into the pan, added the red and then the green batter, then the remaining white batter. Then I marbled the mixture in the pan. To add a little holiday flare to the cake I divided 1 container of white butter cream frosting into 3 microwaveable bowls and added red and green food coloring to 2 of the bowls and microwaved for 20 seconds each. I drizzled the white, red and green frosting over the cake. Turned out wonderful. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States