Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made this cake for my friends birthday party. It was amazing! I did make the changes that people said about the lemon, which made it just wonderful. This cake was fluffy and the best pound cake i have made so far! I used fondant and "best buttercream frosting" on it! Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Excellent cake! I brushed the layers with the lemon simple syrup recipe from this site and filled with raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Great recipe! The only thing I did different was to use all butter instead of shortening, and I decreased the milk to 1 cup. It turned out great, very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I made this cake this morning. It was wonderful. Came out so moist. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
After reading the reviews I made some modifications mostly from "Carthecook". I substituted butter milk for the plain milk and added extra vanilla and 1 tsp lemon extract. This cake was delicious! I found it got better sitting over night in the fridge. It is moist and the lemon really added a light refreshing zing to the cake. I used powdered sugar, cream, vanilla and lemon extract to make a glaze. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I bake breads all the time but have never tried a cake. I used the ingredients in the amounts listed except I used all butter (no shortening) and I followed the directions given by "CARTHECOOK" in her review. I just used regular milk (not soured). My Oh My! What a great airy pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I made a vegan version of this using 'egg replacer' and soya milk mixed with water (60-40 ratio) and the result was a very nice soft cake. Everyone in my family loved it; thx for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
i gave it 5 stars for simplicity and the ability to substitute successfully: While it seems impossible, I made it a mission to make this delectable dessert "healthy-ish." I used 1 cup of Lite ICBINB and 1/4 cup butter (for flavor,) 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of stevia, 3 eggs, 2 tbls of vanilla, 1 cup of skim milk, 3 cups of whole wheat flour, and 3 tbls of cornstarch. I can honestly say that the family loved it and didn't miss a thing...it came out beautifully and tasted oh so sinful. Mission accomplished! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I loved this recipe! I made it in two loaf pans, and it turned out terrific! I followed the recipe exactly, it has great taste and texture and even looks delicious! I will definitely make this again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I love this recipe, it almost taste as good as my grandmother's pound cake. I can not find her recipe, so I will be using this one for now on...My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States