Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by C.P.
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I needed a cake that was sturdy and tasty and this was it! I followed the recipe exactly, but made a round four-layer cake. It was sooo good! I had made it for a birthday cake, so I frosted it with buttercream, but the cake would have been just as delicious without any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.P.

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Best pound cake recipe ever. I reduced the sugar to 2 cups and kept everything else and wow, it tasted better than cake mix, so moist, not dense at all, perfectly sweet. This is really the no fail cake. Even my husband loved it and he usually doesn't eat cakes or sweet stuffs, but devoured this cake without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This cake was great! I made it for a birthday and it was a huge success. I didn't use all of the sugar that the ingredients said to use. It actually wasn't sweet enough, so next time I will use all of the sugar. It is a very moist cake and all of my friends loved the texture! I would absolutely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Waverly Hall, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Way....too sweet. Already cut the sugar in 2.5 cups when i red the recipe but still too sweet.So you can't realy taste the buttery flavor because all you taste is sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeilaLove

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Followed recipe exactly, with exception of forgetting the sugar and vigorously beating it in after the eggs. It's delicious! I've already eaten too much. Perfect for the strawberry trifle birthday dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I tried the cake but forgot the salt. I am not sure if that made a difference, but it tasted a little too sweet. Next time I will try it without as much sugar. It came out perfect as far as the rise and how it looked. However it taste a little like sweet cornbread......not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Absolutely awesome, My first from scratch cake and Mother in-law was impressed.just follow directions to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayMDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made this cake for my friends birthday party. It was amazing! I did make the changes that people said about the lemon, which made it just wonderful. This cake was fluffy and the best pound cake i have made so far! I used fondant and "best buttercream frosting" on it! Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Excellent cake! I brushed the layers with the lemon simple syrup recipe from this site and filled with raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Great recipe! The only thing I did different was to use all butter instead of shortening, and I decreased the milk to 1 cup. It turned out great, very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States