Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is a pretty good pound cake. The consistancy is off a little. I think there's just a tad too much sugar in it for me. If I make this one again, I think I'll cut the sugar by 1/4 to 2/3 cup. The taste is good with just the vanilla, but like I said it's a little sweeter than I'm used to in a pound cake. I give it an A-.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I'm 26 and cannot bake to save my life :-( I decided to make this yesterday for my son and husband. Omg it was so gooood. I've never baked anything so good. My boys were so proud of me lol. I did substitute the milk for orange juice....so yummy. My husband took some with him this morning for his coffee :-) he called today to ask if there was anymore left ah ah Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I baked this cake for our church Christmas get together-it went fast!Very good! I did add some almond extract (1 tb.) It was fantastic ! I did have a problem with it overflowing the bundt pan however.It really needs a big bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolinas, California, USA
Living In: Amston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Really delicious!! I substituted Eggnog for milk and added a dash of nutmeg and ginger, as I was going for an eggnog poundcake. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Excellent. Followed directions exactly, and creamed butter, shortening and sugar 25 minutes. Stuck to my pan, but is still delicious. Just baked for family, and they won't care if it isn't exactly perfect looking since it tastes so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjc123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This is the best pound cake I have ever had! I took another reviewer's suggestion and added lemon extract. I put in 1 tsp and it was PERFECT! I made cupcakes (2 doz from one batch), filled them with a strawberry puree and topped them with a whip cream frosting. OMG....so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gskatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Excellent cake! Made it several times and it's always a great success. I reduced the sugar to 2 1/2 cups and it tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Very good pound cake! buttery,moiste ,sweet and so easy to make i did use all butter.it was done in about 45 min i will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Baked this to bring to a gathering - it was a hit! Made another for the family, served it with fresh strawberries and cream. Delicious! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Betancourt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by C.P.
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I needed a cake that was sturdy and tasty and this was it! I followed the recipe exactly, but made a round four-layer cake. It was sooo good! I had made it for a birthday cake, so I frosted it with buttercream, but the cake would have been just as delicious without any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.P.

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States