Potpourri Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was good, but a bit bland, as others have said. I added a dash of oregano and garlic powder, and extra hot sauce and steak sauce. With these additions, I'll make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This soup is EXCELLENT in aroma and flavor.Both Hubby and i give it 5 stars.Only change I made was to use no salt instead of salt.Thanks for a great nourishing soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I replaced 4 of the cups of water with chicken broth and I used more steak sauce (A-1) and hot sacue then this recipe called for along with some parsley and season salt. The one thing I would do differently next time is to double the barley because I found myself hunting for it with just 1/3 cup. All in and all it is a good recipe and I really like the addition of the steak sauce. Although I feel it needs a bit of tweaking, it is still a fast and hearty soup and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Hi everyone, I wrote this recipe when I was just out of high school! Now I am just finishing with graduate school and I realize it should be tablespoons instead of teaspoons for the worchshire and steak sauce. No wonder it was bland! As with any soup though, it is all a matter of taste so add as much as you like to make it taste good. I just give them both a good shaking into the pot and often have to experiment with adding more or adding more water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
I had to massively spice this recipe up to make it palatable... it was bland as is. I added some garlic, tarragon, whole pepper, red pepper flakes and beef bouillon, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This was pretty good and easy to make. It ended up being more like 6 to 8 servings. I increased the Worcestershire and hot pepper sauce at the end quite a bit as it tasted a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
This turned out to be a nice spagetti sauce without the barley but did not resemble soup. Barley must be cooked for a long time or sooked over night in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
This soup is delicious and so easy to make. I left out the salt/pepper, worcestershire sauce, steak sauce, and hot pepper sauce and added a couple of beef bouillion cubes instead. I also added chopped zuchinni and a can of cream style corn. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Emily you did a good job submitting this receipe it was great. Very easy to make and put together. Very filling and nutritious. Tastes great I am putting this in my receipes to use more often. Can't wait to try it out on my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States