Potpourri Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Hi everyone, I wrote this recipe when I was just out of high school! Now I am just finishing with graduate school and I realize it should be tablespoons instead of teaspoons for the worchshire and steak sauce. No wonder it was bland! As with any soup though, it is all a matter of taste so add as much as you like to make it taste good. I just give them both a good shaking into the pot and often have to experiment with adding more or adding more water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I replaced 4 of the cups of water with chicken broth and I used more steak sauce (A-1) and hot sacue then this recipe called for along with some parsley and season salt. The one thing I would do differently next time is to double the barley because I found myself hunting for it with just 1/3 cup. All in and all it is a good recipe and I really like the addition of the steak sauce. Although I feel it needs a bit of tweaking, it is still a fast and hearty soup and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
This soup is delicious and so easy to make. I left out the salt/pepper, worcestershire sauce, steak sauce, and hot pepper sauce and added a couple of beef bouillion cubes instead. I also added chopped zuchinni and a can of cream style corn. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This soup is EXCELLENT in aroma and flavor.Both Hubby and i give it 5 stars.Only change I made was to use no salt instead of salt.Thanks for a great nourishing soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This was pretty good and easy to make. It ended up being more like 6 to 8 servings. I increased the Worcestershire and hot pepper sauce at the end quite a bit as it tasted a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
This turned out to be a nice spagetti sauce without the barley but did not resemble soup. Barley must be cooked for a long time or sooked over night in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
I had to massively spice this recipe up to make it palatable... it was bland as is. I added some garlic, tarragon, whole pepper, red pepper flakes and beef bouillon, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Emily you did a good job submitting this receipe it was great. Very easy to make and put together. Very filling and nutritious. Tastes great I am putting this in my receipes to use more often. Can't wait to try it out on my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was good, but a bit bland, as others have said. I added a dash of oregano and garlic powder, and extra hot sauce and steak sauce. With these additions, I'll make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I love this recipe. I never make it the same way twice. I sometimes mix 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 ground sweet Italian sausage. I usually substitute beef broth for the water and add red wine. I typically omit the beans and double (and then some) the barley. The worchestershire sauce is an absolute must in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States