Potica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Two big loaves...sure didn't last long. Family devoured them! I added chopped dates to the recipe. Made something that was already really good, really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have made potica for over 20 yrs. (but) my dough recipe has to be made the night before. I found this one so I could make it the same day. The dough is wonderful, easy to make and wonderful to work with and that means alot because the rolling of the dough is the hardest and most time consuming. thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Awesome! It tastes amazing coming out of the oven! I told my mother I made it and she said she had a potica pan to put the loaf in. Will try that next time. I will probably add more nuts next time also. It took a good chunk of the afternoon to make, but a lot of the time was waiting for dough to rise. Growing up Slovenian, I always heard what a process it was, but it is definitely do-able! Incredible recipe, even for me, a first-timer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I live in Slovenia (for 11 years) and speak the language. I also have a Croatian heritage and my grandmother made potica. Just for the record, the correct pronunciation is po-tee-tza. This recipe is really authentic. It is traditionally made for Christmas and Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maribor, Štajerska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I grew up having this for Christmas every year. My Grandmother would make it and the whole family looked forward to it. With several grandchildren, it was an honor when we were old enough to learn this art. It is a time consuming recipe but well worth the effort. We have always used pecans but walnuts would be a less expensive alternative. There are also some minor differences in this recipe and the one I grew up with. It's bitter sweet to see this recipe posted as my family has always kept it a secret but it really is good enough to share. This bread gets better and better the more you make it. TIP: don't over-knead and try to use as little flour as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My Great-Grandmother was famous for this!!! I now make this dough in the bread machine set on the dough cycle with a cinnamon-roll-bread recipe. Then generously roll it out, smear it with butter, and sprinkle on finely chopped walnuts, sugar, and cinnamon generously. Just roll it up tight and it comes out wonderful everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Made this for a new year's party. Absolutely delicious and not too hard for a bread-baking novice. I used whole wheat pastry flour and ground the walnuts in a food processor. Super yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Love it, goes great with warm milk! However my first attempt was fail but when you do it riht it is just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
my mom and dad would make this every christmas and we would have it at breakfast. my mom would always roll it up like a jelly roll then roll it into a circle like a snail, pinching the edges closed. my sister make it for the family now and it is just like my moms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Haley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is as close to my G Grandmothers as I have made so far. Unfortunatley she passed and never used a written recipe. I suspect from talking to others in the family that she used what was at hand for the filling. Dates and Black Walnuts and perhaps a secret ingrediant she didn't share. Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

How to Proof Yeast

Learn simple tricks for proofing yeast to make breads & pastries light and airy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States