Potica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I live in Slovenia (for 11 years) and speak the language. I also have a Croatian heritage and my grandmother made potica. Just for the record, the correct pronunciation is po-tee-tza. This recipe is really authentic. It is traditionally made for Christmas and Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maribor, Štajerska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
A tip for potica makers. Roll your dough on a floured cloth. After you spread the filling over the dough, pick of the end of the cloth and gently pull letting the dough roll over on itself. You'll be able to get the dough paper thin and reduce tearing. Also, grind the walnuts into a paste instead of chopping them, this will keep them from ripping the dough. This dough is exactly like the recipe I use. The filling is a little diff. I've noticed many variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have made potica for over 20 yrs. (but) my dough recipe has to be made the night before. I found this one so I could make it the same day. The dough is wonderful, easy to make and wonderful to work with and that means alot because the rolling of the dough is the hardest and most time consuming. thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
A very difficult recipe to make indeed, especially for someone like me who has no bread making experience whatsoever! Be sure to roll the dough out to be very thin. My first attempt was not that successful but not so unsuccessful that I will not try to make it again. Even though my potica turned out to be quite ugly it tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I grew up having this for Christmas every year. My Grandmother would make it and the whole family looked forward to it. With several grandchildren, it was an honor when we were old enough to learn this art. It is a time consuming recipe but well worth the effort. We have always used pecans but walnuts would be a less expensive alternative. There are also some minor differences in this recipe and the one I grew up with. It's bitter sweet to see this recipe posted as my family has always kept it a secret but it really is good enough to share. This bread gets better and better the more you make it. TIP: don't over-knead and try to use as little flour as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is just like my recipe except mine has 5 egg yolks. For best results, follow tips posted: chop nuts in a food processor to an almost paste-like consistency, roll dough on a floured table cloth. You want it VERY thin! Dough should be about 55" x 35". Here is my tip: As you are rolling the dough/filling, prick w/something very thin (I use a cake tester from Pampered Chef). Keep making several pricks across the length of the dough after every turn. This will keep air out and prevent the dough from getting thick as it bakes. The end result will be a nice, tight spiral. Follow these tips and you will have a DELICIOUS potica!! If anyone has a recipe for a chocolate potica that does not contain nuts, please let me know. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I made this for easter and it was a hit with the family. this was my first time making bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I used pecans instead of walnuts, only because that is what I had on hand. just wasn't as good as we thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Awesome! It tastes amazing coming out of the oven! I told my mother I made it and she said she had a potica pan to put the loaf in. Will try that next time. I will probably add more nuts next time also. It took a good chunk of the afternoon to make, but a lot of the time was waiting for dough to rise. Growing up Slovenian, I always heard what a process it was, but it is definitely do-able! Incredible recipe, even for me, a first-timer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I like my aunt's recipe in a pinch but this one is ok. I totally agree with two helpful hints. Roll this dough out on a clean sheet, it helps roll the dough over itself. Also use food processor to make the nuts as fine as possible. We have always rolled it around itself and then cook it in an aluminum turkey roasting pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States