Potica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I used pecans instead of walnuts, only because that is what I had on hand. just wasn't as good as we thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I made this for easter and it was a hit with the family. this was my first time making bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
A very difficult recipe to make indeed, especially for someone like me who has no bread making experience whatsoever! Be sure to roll the dough out to be very thin. My first attempt was not that successful but not so unsuccessful that I will not try to make it again. Even though my potica turned out to be quite ugly it tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I wrote a review yesterday b4 I tasted this,,, it is the best I have ever eaten,, the recipe is hard,, but worth the effort...If u like this kind of food,, u will love this,, it is really GOOD,, it is also very hard to make and very time consuming..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have made potica for over 20 yrs. (but) my dough recipe has to be made the night before. I found this one so I could make it the same day. The dough is wonderful, easy to make and wonderful to work with and that means alot because the rolling of the dough is the hardest and most time consuming. thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Awesome! It tastes amazing coming out of the oven! I told my mother I made it and she said she had a potica pan to put the loaf in. Will try that next time. I will probably add more nuts next time also. It took a good chunk of the afternoon to make, but a lot of the time was waiting for dough to rise. Growing up Slovenian, I always heard what a process it was, but it is definitely do-able! Incredible recipe, even for me, a first-timer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I live in Slovenia (for 11 years) and speak the language. I also have a Croatian heritage and my grandmother made potica. Just for the record, the correct pronunciation is po-tee-tza. This recipe is really authentic. It is traditionally made for Christmas and Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maribor, Štajerska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I'm wondering what a potica pan is like. This is similar to my Grandma's bread, but she put in something called "St John's" which she had to go to Brooklyn to get. Also her loaf was high like a babka - not a roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I grew up having this for Christmas every year. My Grandmother would make it and the whole family looked forward to it. With several grandchildren, it was an honor when we were old enough to learn this art. It is a time consuming recipe but well worth the effort. We have always used pecans but walnuts would be a less expensive alternative. There are also some minor differences in this recipe and the one I grew up with. It's bitter sweet to see this recipe posted as my family has always kept it a secret but it really is good enough to share. This bread gets better and better the more you make it. TIP: don't over-knead and try to use as little flour as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My Great-Grandmother was famous for this!!! I now make this dough in the bread machine set on the dough cycle with a cinnamon-roll-bread recipe. Then generously roll it out, smear it with butter, and sprinkle on finely chopped walnuts, sugar, and cinnamon generously. Just roll it up tight and it comes out wonderful everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States