Potica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is as close to my G Grandmothers as I have made so far. Unfortunatley she passed and never used a written recipe. I suspect from talking to others in the family that she used what was at hand for the filling. Dates and Black Walnuts and perhaps a secret ingrediant she didn't share. Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
my mom and dad would make this every christmas and we would have it at breakfast. my mom would always roll it up like a jelly roll then roll it into a circle like a snail, pinching the edges closed. my sister make it for the family now and it is just like my moms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Haley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Love it, goes great with warm milk! However my first attempt was fail but when you do it riht it is just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Two big loaves...sure didn't last long. Family devoured them! I added chopped dates to the recipe. Made something that was already really good, really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Made this for a new year's party. Absolutely delicious and not too hard for a bread-baking novice. I used whole wheat pastry flour and ground the walnuts in a food processor. Super yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I like my aunt's recipe in a pinch but this one is ok. I totally agree with two helpful hints. Roll this dough out on a clean sheet, it helps roll the dough over itself. Also use food processor to make the nuts as fine as possible. We have always rolled it around itself and then cook it in an aluminum turkey roasting pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
A tip for potica makers. Roll your dough on a floured cloth. After you spread the filling over the dough, pick of the end of the cloth and gently pull letting the dough roll over on itself. You'll be able to get the dough paper thin and reduce tearing. Also, grind the walnuts into a paste instead of chopping them, this will keep them from ripping the dough. This dough is exactly like the recipe I use. The filling is a little diff. I've noticed many variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My Great-Grandmother was famous for this!!! I now make this dough in the bread machine set on the dough cycle with a cinnamon-roll-bread recipe. Then generously roll it out, smear it with butter, and sprinkle on finely chopped walnuts, sugar, and cinnamon generously. Just roll it up tight and it comes out wonderful everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I grew up having this for Christmas every year. My Grandmother would make it and the whole family looked forward to it. With several grandchildren, it was an honor when we were old enough to learn this art. It is a time consuming recipe but well worth the effort. We have always used pecans but walnuts would be a less expensive alternative. There are also some minor differences in this recipe and the one I grew up with. It's bitter sweet to see this recipe posted as my family has always kept it a secret but it really is good enough to share. This bread gets better and better the more you make it. TIP: don't over-knead and try to use as little flour as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I'm wondering what a potica pan is like. This is similar to my Grandma's bread, but she put in something called "St John's" which she had to go to Brooklyn to get. Also her loaf was high like a babka - not a roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States