Potica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mary Pat Hribar McDonald
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I am also a potica maker and will soon post my recipe. in the meantime, I will post this photo. The entire process takes about 5 hours and I check temperatures and weigh everything . It is not always perfect, but because my mother took the time to mark everything in my SLovene cookbook (her improvisations) it is a never fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pat Hribar McDonald
Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Worth the effort!! I am a novice cook, but really wanted to recreate my late Romanian Grandmother's famous Christmas walnut roll. It's been over 20 years since I've tried it, so I didn't have clear memories of what it even looked or tasted like. As soon as my parents took a bite of this they immediately said, "This is just like Mom's!" What a compliment! I love that I am able to bring back some family tradition at the Holidays. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe but it certainly looks authentic from what I remember. Potica is also made with a poppy seed filling which I actually prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Great recipe just watch temp if u have a fan force oven it needs to be lower than 175 I had mine on 170
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I haven't tried this recipe as of yet but similar to my fathers growing up. He use to make these at Christmas time for our Catholic church parish. GREAT sliced on a plate with butter and heated in the microwave. Euchre and potica after midnight mass every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
My grandmother used golden raisins which makes it sweeter and they plump up a bit more. This is my favorite treat with a little butter or cream cheese. A little expensive to make, but I am worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This isn't the same recipe my Grandmother gave me, but it's very similar. However, this seems to come out as a roll. My Grandmother's is meant to be a loaf, like bread. We have this every family get-together and it goes FAST. To be fair we also have 30 people though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This recipe did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is just like my recipe except mine has 5 egg yolks. For best results, follow tips posted: chop nuts in a food processor to an almost paste-like consistency, roll dough on a floured table cloth. You want it VERY thin! Dough should be about 55" x 35". Here is my tip: As you are rolling the dough/filling, prick w/something very thin (I use a cake tester from Pampered Chef). Keep making several pricks across the length of the dough after every turn. This will keep air out and prevent the dough from getting thick as it bakes. The end result will be a nice, tight spiral. Follow these tips and you will have a DELICIOUS potica!! If anyone has a recipe for a chocolate potica that does not contain nuts, please let me know. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
RIGHT INGREDIENTS , NOT THE REAL STUFF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

How to Proof Yeast

Learn simple tricks for proofing yeast to make breads & pastries light and airy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States