Potatoes Madras Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SalukiAlmana
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Delicious! I went vegan for new years, so I've been seeking out new recipes and this one looked just perfect. I was not disappointed! I followed the recipe but also added extra garlic, cumin, a little cayenne, and coriander. I soaked the lentils for an hour and simmered the dish for about 35 minute. Served over rice. I will definitely be making this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
very good, it does take more like 50 min of simmering to cook the potatoes. I ended up adding more of the spices as it seemed it was a little bland. Basically after cooked, just add more spices to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Did this oil free. It was light but I wished I'd added more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is a very good recipe. I did have to make some adjustments for our family. We are Indian food lovers and like our spicy food - I didn't feel the original amount of curry and ginger was nearly enough. I more than doubled the amount of both. I also added a few hefty dashes of cayenne pepper to give it an extra punch. With these minor adjustments it was great - the family loved it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this tonight and it was OK. I would have like it to be saucier. I added more curry and a little siracha to kick it up. I think that I will continue looking for a recipe with cauliflower and Indian spices. This was not one that I would would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySacTown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This dish was great! Word from the wise- definitely use red lentils (or else pre-cook other types to an extent), as red lentils will cook at a faster rate than other types of lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Great recipe. Would definitely go well with some naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
wow! this was sooo good. i changed it slightly so i cant give five stars but even if you follow it to the letter, you cant go wrong with this recipe. i soaked the lentils in water while i prepared the other vegetables and i used apricot jam instead of the chutney since i like my curries to be hot, sweet and spicy. i took another reviewers hint and fried a bit of cumin and ground coriander with the ginger and curry powder. other than these minor changes, i followed the recipe. thankyou for submitting such an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Delicious! Spices were just right for me, although I did add cinnamon, just because I love it. I looked for a recipe to use up cauliflower and potatoes. I didn't have mango and also threw in some pumpkin I had on hand. I thought the pumpkin would add color, but it cooked into the sauce, which turned out fine. I pre-soaked the lentils in broth while chopping, as another user suggested. I ended up adding more broth and cooking for longer. Makes enough for an army! I now have lunches for the next week :) Thanks Darkstorm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
LOVED this recipe! Husband, 2-year old and 8 month old all loved it too! Flavors are delicious, and it is surprisingly quick and easy to make. Couldn't find Mango Chutney at the grocery, so I used Mango Salsa instead, worked great! (I used 3 heaping Tb) Also, I soaked the lentils in the vegetable broth for ~20 mins before adding to the pan. Can easily add the entire head of cauliflower. Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States