Potatoes Madras Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SalukiAlmana
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Delicious! I went vegan for new years, so I've been seeking out new recipes and this one looked just perfect. I was not disappointed! I followed the recipe but also added extra garlic, cumin, a little cayenne, and coriander. I soaked the lentils for an hour and simmered the dish for about 35 minute. Served over rice. I will definitely be making this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
very good, it does take more like 50 min of simmering to cook the potatoes. I ended up adding more of the spices as it seemed it was a little bland. Basically after cooked, just add more spices to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Did this oil free. It was light but I wished I'd added more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is a very good recipe. I did have to make some adjustments for our family. We are Indian food lovers and like our spicy food - I didn't feel the original amount of curry and ginger was nearly enough. I more than doubled the amount of both. I also added a few hefty dashes of cayenne pepper to give it an extra punch. With these minor adjustments it was great - the family loved it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this tonight and it was OK. I would have like it to be saucier. I added more curry and a little siracha to kick it up. I think that I will continue looking for a recipe with cauliflower and Indian spices. This was not one that I would would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySacTown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This dish was great! Word from the wise- definitely use red lentils (or else pre-cook other types to an extent), as red lentils will cook at a faster rate than other types of lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Great recipe. Would definitely go well with some naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
wow! this was sooo good. i changed it slightly so i cant give five stars but even if you follow it to the letter, you cant go wrong with this recipe. i soaked the lentils in water while i prepared the other vegetables and i used apricot jam instead of the chutney since i like my curries to be hot, sweet and spicy. i took another reviewers hint and fried a bit of cumin and ground coriander with the ginger and curry powder. other than these minor changes, i followed the recipe. thankyou for submitting such an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Delicious! Spices were just right for me, although I did add cinnamon, just because I love it. I looked for a recipe to use up cauliflower and potatoes. I didn't have mango and also threw in some pumpkin I had on hand. I thought the pumpkin would add color, but it cooked into the sauce, which turned out fine. I pre-soaked the lentils in broth while chopping, as another user suggested. I ended up adding more broth and cooking for longer. Makes enough for an army! I now have lunches for the next week :) Thanks Darkstorm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
LOVED this recipe! Husband, 2-year old and 8 month old all loved it too! Flavors are delicious, and it is surprisingly quick and easy to make. Couldn't find Mango Chutney at the grocery, so I used Mango Salsa instead, worked great! (I used 3 heaping Tb) Also, I soaked the lentils in the vegetable broth for ~20 mins before adding to the pan. Can easily add the entire head of cauliflower. Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States