Potatoes Au Gratin with Fennel and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
First let me say, I made a double batch. One- according to all of the other reviews (which is- parboil the potatoes for 7 minutes, bake at 400, not 325 for 1 1/2 hours then 325 for the last half hour) and Two- exactly as directed. I have to admit, I liked the directed way (Two)better. However, I could see how some people might like the more 'mushy potato' way better, just not me. Don't get me wrong, they were both great, I just think I would go with the directions on this one. HOWEVER, the sauce did not thicken in 5 minutes, it was closer to 9. As another reviewer stated, bacon or no bacon--- doesn't matter. This is great either way. I am not a scalloped potato person. The only reason I found this recipe Is because I was looking for something with fennel. I am a scalloped potato person now! Thanks TX_Brad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Best potatoes au gratin I've ever had. This will be my new go to recipe when I get fennel in the CSA box. I should also note that I only used 2 C cheese and 12 oz bacon (what I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I did like the flavor of the dish; first time I cooked with fennel. Next time I will use russet or red potatoes; the yukon gold were way too solid even tho I par boiled them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I did forget the basil, but I can't see how it would of improved it much. Just not very good. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
i followed recipe pretty closely, only i used dried basil. I did not think this was any tastier than boxed Betty Crocker au gratin. did not see the big deal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This was just okay. It was my first time cooking or eating fennel, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I'm not sure if I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TalaSunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I didn't have fennel, other then that followed the recipe. Had a huge layer of grease (almost half the dish!) but it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
OMG how could something NOT be good with bacon in it? I didn't use fennel or basil because I didn't have any, but did use flat-leaf parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Superstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I didn't know what fennel was, but it came in a CSA basket and this recipe was a choice my entire family enjoyed. Left out the bacon because I didn't have any, but can imagine that would make it very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is sooo easy to make and is well worth the cooking time. My family love it. Last time I omitted the bacon and used Mexican cheese. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States