Potatoes and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Love this as a side dish with steak or beef tips. Substituting garlic infused oil for plain olive oil really boosts the flavor. I also prefer to substitute some of the sweet onion with shallots for a little complexity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Awesome! Brought it to Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. I made it a day ahead, put it in a casserole dish and heated it in the oven before serving. The only change I made was that I added rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made this for my family tonight with only one major change: one gree pepper and one orange pepper. I also used chopped red potatoes, and less olive oil than called for in the recipe. This was easy, quick, flavorful, and got rave reviews from two of my daughters and my husband. He couldn't stop complimenting the dish. It was like having two sides in one paired with chunked chicken breasts with Italian style seasonings (a la a recipe idea my 8 year old had). They have already requested that this dish go into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Lots of fresh flavor. Very easy. I did use less oil and added one diced clove of garlic. Then I baked it in the oven because I prefer potatoes baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
One of my favorite mixtures, everyone seems to like it. Also put in green pepper in addition to red for color and roast in oven at 400 for about 35-40 min or till potatoes done and turning the mixture once or twice. We like garlic so usually also add some fresh or powdered. This is also good with half white and half sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I would add mild Italian sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frankfort, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
The recipe shown is very simple to make and quick, so it is good. I do a few things differently. I use frozen Oreida Potatoes that won't get mushy if you add them just before the onions and peppers are cooked so that they will be tender but firm. This works great and taste very good. I use regular cooking oil to caramelized the onions with the peppers cooking them about 15 mins on a lower heat and not stirring them until translucent. Since I use this recipe to make Italian hotdogs, I add a tsp. of Intalian seasoning, salt and pepper to taste. You don't have to use oilive oil to pan cook the vegetables, but you can finish the dish off with a little of the oil poured over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Fantastic basic fried potato recipe which reminds me of my childhood. I reduced the olive oil due to other people's reviews to 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was not bad but also not memorable. I added fresh rosemary from my garden to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I cooked a pound of polish sausage in the pan first, removed the sausage, then cooked the potatoes, peppers and onion in the drippings. Great dish and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States