Potatoes and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I only used a 1/4 cup liquid for alot of veggies (potatoes and carrots only). I used chicken stock instead of water and seasoned generously with Adobo. This did not need two hours. Super easy and very satisfying for my family thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These were ok as is. Sweet potatoes do need to be sliced larger than the other vegetables or they'll turn out too soft. I didn't see the need for water if the dish will be covered. However, I shouldn't have covered it the whole time either. They came out steamed rather than roasted. They could use some more seasoning too. Next time I'll try uncovering them for the last 15 min and I'll try olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
A nice side dish that is colorful. I didn't want onions so I didn't add them. And only had 1 sw. potatoe but made it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
As stated in other reviews, the sweet potatoes cook too fast. I left them out completely the second time I cooked it, and it was still delicious. There are so many seasonings/herbs that go well on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Archae0pteryx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Generously sprinkling dried Tarragon on top takes away the blandness. I also ditched the sweet potatoes, added garlic and substituted a lesser amount of olive oil. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We loved these vegetables. After reading some of the other reviews, I made a few changes. Only put a little bit of water in the pan, put in half of the veggies, drizzled on some olive oil, sprinkled with seasonings but added some dry beef bouillon granules. Then added the other half of veggies, olive oil, seasonings and bouillon. To keep the sweet potates from getting done before the white potatoes I chunked them in larger pieces. I also used the AR calculation button to reduce this to 4 servings and baked in our toaster oven. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This recipe is a good change to our normal veggie routine. I didnt add the water because I figured the veggies had enough moisture to steam up themselves. Which they did with a little bit of moisture on bottom when finished cooking. I added some garlic powder and used olive oil. It had great flavor but thought the sweet potatoes did cook faster than the rest of the veggies. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Sprinkle a lot of "All Spice" & vouila! Amazing side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheCookKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Yams instead of sweet potatoes. Olive oil instead of vegetable oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
this was good, but not spectacular. Untilitarian, I might say, with all veggies in the same pot. With a little meat and some liquid it would have been a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States