Potato Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
These were different ... I haven't quite decided if I like them or not, but I made changes (after reviewing several different recipes and incorporating a bit of all of them). #1) I used a Belgium waffle maker - the finished waffle came out high and fluffy like a Belgium waffle with the texture of a Belgium waffle and the taste somewhere between a waffle with potato overtones. #2) I did add 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/4 tsp of baking soda ... I'm sure that contributed to the *thick waffle* texture which I've since decided I do NOT want in a waffle potato cake. I'd definitely prefer a crispy crunchy potatoey texture. So. In short, my bad. Going to retry without the leavening agents, but I'm thinking I'm probably going to have to go out and buy a regular waffle maker to get the results I'm looking for. Aside from that, this is a great way to use up leftover potatoes. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Once I got the non-stick situation sorted with my waffle maker, OMG......it was one of the easiest and most delicious things I have ever made. You should definitely make this recipe right now!!!! I also used a GF all purpose flour and it worked fabulously, although I did have to add some milk to thin it out since GF flour tends to make things a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Stefiuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Also good using frozen (thawed) shredded hashbrown potatoes. Take longer than 3-5 cooking minutes though, at least double time. - Poppy4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
For two people it is worth making but for multiple of 3+ I wouldn't go to all the trouble. I did give it 5 stars because I do love lyonnaise potatoes and this is the best in crunch I've ever made. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GF Granny
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
These were alright. They didn't get crispy for me, even after I turned the iron all the way up. Maybe next time I'll add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
LOVE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura.pruitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
My left over potatoes seems a bit dry so I added an 3rd egg and about 3 tablespoons of grated parmesan cheese. It was great! served with a super light sprinkle orchestra cheeseand sour cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin Westbrook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
These were ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
would be great for breakfast with eggs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States