Potato (Velveeta®) Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Yep 5 stars from me! Only added some Tabasco (instead of Cajun seasoning as someone suggested) celery and garlic. I was so happy with it I'm going to take my neighbour some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I loved it! Like the suggestions before me I used the 20 oz. southwest hash browns:waited to put the cheese in when I turned heat down. My son ate it and LOVED it and he hates potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was really good!! My family loved it and want it added to the regular menu rotation. Didnt get as thick as I would have liked but was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was super easy, super quick, super GOOD! I have a few variations though. Do NOT add any additional salt, the bouillon cubes, and Velveeta cheese add more than enough! In fact, the next time I make it, I will use 3 cubes instead of 4. I bought 2% Milk Velveeta cheese. It's 1/3 less fat, and adds a milk creaminess I like. If you add this kind Velveeta, do NOT let your soup boil. It will curdle. If your soup isn't thick enough, like mine wasn't, add flour/water mixture, and sour cream. Gave a great addl. flavor. I also used the hash brown shredded potatoes. perfect, so much less work! You can add so many things to this soup, I'm thinking broccoli would be a good addition too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
i love this its easy. and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
very good! Family loved it. Even my 3 year old who will not eat potatoes ate a bowl full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I really liked this. I was surprised that it was as substantial as it was, since it was made with water rather than milk. It is a very good base for additions to it, which adds interest. Plus, it's far lower in calories than other recipes I found, and it's so easy to make! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
My family did not like this at all. My favorite food is cheese but this was just way too cheesy for us and I only used 3/4 of a block of velveeta. The one thing we liked about it was the Cajun seasoning, which made it edible enough to choke down. But 2 of us ended up with stomach aches from the cheese and we each only had half a bowl. I made this with a half a turkey sandwich for each person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I cook GMO-free

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Made as written and I found it bland. I added after garlic powder, hot sauce, carrots, celery, corn, chicken and some other spices. Thickend it up with some cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativesense

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Quick easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States