Potato (Velveeta®) Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Yep 5 stars from me! Only added some Tabasco (instead of Cajun seasoning as someone suggested) celery and garlic. I was so happy with it I'm going to take my neighbour some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I loved it! Like the suggestions before me I used the 20 oz. southwest hash browns:waited to put the cheese in when I turned heat down. My son ate it and LOVED it and he hates potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was really good!! My family loved it and want it added to the regular menu rotation. Didnt get as thick as I would have liked but was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was super easy, super quick, super GOOD! I have a few variations though. Do NOT add any additional salt, the bouillon cubes, and Velveeta cheese add more than enough! In fact, the next time I make it, I will use 3 cubes instead of 4. I bought 2% Milk Velveeta cheese. It's 1/3 less fat, and adds a milk creaminess I like. If you add this kind Velveeta, do NOT let your soup boil. It will curdle. If your soup isn't thick enough, like mine wasn't, add flour/water mixture, and sour cream. Gave a great addl. flavor. I also used the hash brown shredded potatoes. perfect, so much less work! You can add so many things to this soup, I'm thinking broccoli would be a good addition too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
i love this its easy. and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
very good! Family loved it. Even my 3 year old who will not eat potatoes ate a bowl full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I really liked this. I was surprised that it was as substantial as it was, since it was made with water rather than milk. It is a very good base for additions to it, which adds interest. Plus, it's far lower in calories than other recipes I found, and it's so easy to make! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
My family did not like this at all. My favorite food is cheese but this was just way too cheesy for us and I only used 3/4 of a block of velveeta. The one thing we liked about it was the Cajun seasoning, which made it edible enough to choke down. But 2 of us ended up with stomach aches from the cheese and we each only had half a bowl. I made this with a half a turkey sandwich for each person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I cook GMO-free

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Made as written and I found it bland. I added after garlic powder, hot sauce, carrots, celery, corn, chicken and some other spices. Thickend it up with some cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativesense

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Quick easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States