Potato-Topped Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This was really good, even my husband who is a picky eater liked it. Would definitely make it again. The only thing I changed was the peas and and substituted carrots for the corn. I used fresh from the garden and wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
A nice pseudo-shepherds pie! I added fresh parsley and shredded cheddar cheese. DO NOT skimp on the Worcestershire sauce, bread crumbs or on the garlic! The flavor isn't the same without it! I did that unfortunately, but hot sauce makes everything better I suppose :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erynotyuki
Home Town: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
VERY light on flavor, even though I used herbed mashed potatoes to which I added sour cream, Italian Bread Crumbs and a handful of diced Cremini mushrooms. The breadcrumb/worcestershire sauce combo is key. Good jumping off point, will play around with adding more flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie Maurer-Enneking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was AWSOME! I had never made a dish like this before and WOW was it easy! I did add cheese to mine...everything is better with cheese! :) I have made this a couple of times now and I just wanted to say Thanks Jo I'll be keeping this close for the winter months. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is really good and hubby really enjoyed it.the only thing I did different is add 1/4 cup low fat cheddar and sprinkled on top.Thanks Jo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This recipe is awesome except for two things I did differently. The meat mixture became too dry as listed so I divided the can of mushroom soup in half and use 1/2 cup milk in each of the meat and veggie mixtures. I also added 3T ketchup and 1/4 cup chicken stock to the meat mixture. Otherwise, super easy and delicious for whole family! I used a frozen peas and carrots mixture and then frozen corn. I made instant mashed potatoes and made them oober garlic-y. Oh- I also topped it with a bit of edamer/parmesean cheese cause thats what I had on hand- sosooooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Let me just tell you that more ppl need to try this recipe. I usually never try recipes with with only a few reviews, but this one is soooo good! It really gives a twist on the standard shepards pie. First off, sometimes when cooking chop meat it lacks flavor, but what a great idea to add breadcrumbs, eggs, and worshire sauce AFTER it is cooked. It gave such a flavor to a meal that can come off bland . I will use that tip in recipes to come. Some changes that I made were: while making the chope meat I added some chili powder and crushed red peppers. When adding the breadcrumbs I also addeded some onion and garlic power as well as about a tblspoon of ketchup. I also added a little more than a cup of breadcrumbs bc I had more than a pound of meat. Also between the veggie and potato layer I layed about 6 slices of American cheese. (Would have prob used shreeded cheddar if I had it on hand.) Oh yeah... for the veggies I used about 2 cups of frozen mixed veggied but I felt that wasnt enough. I alctually took a whole bag of steam fresh western corn and used that as well. I also used cream of chicken (bc I only had that) and I also added some chicken broth since I added more veggies(Prob used about 3/4 of a cup).. Also def need MORE potatoes I made that time costly mistake! When mixing the potatoes I just used butter and bacon ranch dressing. IT also tastes really good when you leave the potatoes chunky. Overall this is a deffff must!! Very quick and easy meal with stuf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Delicious! I made a couple minor changes based on what I had on hand . I used one 16 oz package of thawed frozen corn (and no peas ), and in the meat mixture I mixed in about half a can of beef broth (about 6 oz)to make it a moister mixture. It was great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~jz~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I found this recipe good, but needs a stock cube for flavour and I used fresh carrots and broccoli instead of the frozen vegies. It had a better taste and is more healthy and has a better texture. More potato is also needed. This was about 50% too little in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I changed peas to green beans. But it needed a little more flavor. Next time I will try more Worchestshire sauce, and more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States