Potato-Topped Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This was really good, even my husband who is a picky eater liked it. Would definitely make it again. The only thing I changed was the peas and and substituted carrots for the corn. I used fresh from the garden and wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
A nice pseudo-shepherds pie! I added fresh parsley and shredded cheddar cheese. DO NOT skimp on the Worcestershire sauce, bread crumbs or on the garlic! The flavor isn't the same without it! I did that unfortunately, but hot sauce makes everything better I suppose :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erynotyuki
Home Town: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
VERY light on flavor, even though I used herbed mashed potatoes to which I added sour cream, Italian Bread Crumbs and a handful of diced Cremini mushrooms. The breadcrumb/worcestershire sauce combo is key. Good jumping off point, will play around with adding more flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie Maurer-Enneking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was AWSOME! I had never made a dish like this before and WOW was it easy! I did add cheese to mine...everything is better with cheese! :) I have made this a couple of times now and I just wanted to say Thanks Jo I'll be keeping this close for the winter months. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is really good and hubby really enjoyed it.the only thing I did different is add 1/4 cup low fat cheddar and sprinkled on top.Thanks Jo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This recipe is awesome except for two things I did differently. The meat mixture became too dry as listed so I divided the can of mushroom soup in half and use 1/2 cup milk in each of the meat and veggie mixtures. I also added 3T ketchup and 1/4 cup chicken stock to the meat mixture. Otherwise, super easy and delicious for whole family! I used a frozen peas and carrots mixture and then frozen corn. I made instant mashed potatoes and made them oober garlic-y. Oh- I also topped it with a bit of edamer/parmesean cheese cause thats what I had on hand- sosooooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Let me just tell you that more ppl need to try this recipe. I usually never try recipes with with only a few reviews, but this one is soooo good! It really gives a twist on the standard shepards pie. First off, sometimes when cooking chop meat it lacks flavor, but what a great idea to add breadcrumbs, eggs, and worshire sauce AFTER it is cooked. It gave such a flavor to a meal that can come off bland . I will use that tip in recipes to come. Some changes that I made were: while making the chope meat I added some chili powder and crushed red peppers. When adding the breadcrumbs I also addeded some onion and garlic power as well as about a tblspoon of ketchup. I also added a little more than a cup of breadcrumbs bc I had more than a pound of meat. Also between the veggie and potato layer I layed about 6 slices of American cheese. (Would have prob used shreeded cheddar if I had it on hand.) Oh yeah... for the veggies I used about 2 cups of frozen mixed veggied but I felt that wasnt enough. I alctually took a whole bag of steam fresh western corn and used that as well. I also used cream of chicken (bc I only had that) and I also added some chicken broth since I added more veggies(Prob used about 3/4 of a cup).. Also def need MORE potatoes I made that time costly mistake! When mixing the potatoes I just used butter and bacon ranch dressing. IT also tastes really good when you leave the potatoes chunky. Overall this is a deffff must!! Very quick and easy meal with stuf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Delicious! I made a couple minor changes based on what I had on hand . I used one 16 oz package of thawed frozen corn (and no peas ), and in the meat mixture I mixed in about half a can of beef broth (about 6 oz)to make it a moister mixture. It was great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~jz~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I found this recipe good, but needs a stock cube for flavour and I used fresh carrots and broccoli instead of the frozen vegies. It had a better taste and is more healthy and has a better texture. More potato is also needed. This was about 50% too little in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I changed peas to green beans. But it needed a little more flavor. Next time I will try more Worchestshire sauce, and more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States