Potato Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
These were a great vegetarian alternative to beef tacos. I am not a big vegetarian fan but love potatoes. My husband ate about 3 of them while I was cooking them! I put them in toaster oven the next day to warm up the leftovers and they tasted like I just made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
These were so good and so easy to make. I did, however, have trouble with the corn tortillas wanting to tear in half after I folded them, even though they were at room temperature. I would recommend heating the tortillas first in the microwave or making these quesadilla-style and then cutting them in 1/2. I used a lot less oil than called for and just flipped them over. Thanks, Yvonne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
My wife and I always order potato tacos when we go to the garment district in downtown L.A . There suposed to be the best in L.A . Well these are better. For a guy who is just learning how to cook, these were so easy to make. Someone else suggested warming the tortillas in the microwave first to soften them. Well its true, the tacos did not fall apart when I was frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I served these with salsa and sour cream. It was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baudette, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Francis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This tasted like a perogie--and it was delicious! I used leftover mashed potatoes and simply reheated them in the microwave with some shredded cheddar cheese. I spread it to within an inch of the edge of the tortilla, and I fried it with cooking spray. The results were more than satisfying. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
It was soooooooooooo good!!! Will definiletly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Big hit! I made these for a high-school graduation party and they disappeared!! Great flavor and so easy to make using commercially available taco shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
My mom used to make some tacos similar to this when I was growing up except she used real Mexican Cheese & she sauteed white onion & added it to the potato mixture instead of putting green onions in them. I love these tacos. We also put lettuce in them and ate them with Salsa and Parm. Cheese. Salt & Pepper should be to taste too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
These were wonderful--definitely comfort food. Make sure to soften the corn tortillas--if they aren't fresh, they will split. I softened the tortillas in oil and then I didn't need to use the toothpicks. I cut them into thirds and served them as appetizers. Very unique--everyone loved them! I had one for breakfast the next day with hot sauce...mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I LOVED these. Although my husband wasn't as impressed as I was, I have made them several times. The only problem is that they don't reheat very well. Sort of soggy, so only make what you will eat at that meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States