Potato Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
My mom used to make some tacos similar to this when I was growing up except she used real Mexican Cheese & she sauteed white onion & added it to the potato mixture instead of putting green onions in them. I love these tacos. We also put lettuce in them and ate them with Salsa and Parm. Cheese. Salt & Pepper should be to taste too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
These weren't quite as yummy as I was hoping. The potatoes needed a little more flavor, were a bit bland. If I were to make these again, I would add a little garlic, a little butter, lots of salt and pepper, and maybe even some chili powder to the potato mixture. The ranch dressing was good with them. I will try these again sometime, with just a few tweaks. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I do something like this ,but I dip the tortillas in a red sauce then fry them. I serve it with shredded cabbage and onions and a lemon to squeeze over the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorris, California, USA
Living In: Merlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Potato tacos are an old favorite in my family that I have not thought to make until I heard XrayBarb talking about them. Now I am all excited to make them, which I did. The kids were IN LOVE! This is a simple dish that is Simply Delicious! You can feed a boat load of people w/o breaking the bank YYAA. My kind of meal. Thank You Yvonne I will remember these and keep them in circulation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This tasted like a perogie--and it was delicious! I used leftover mashed potatoes and simply reheated them in the microwave with some shredded cheddar cheese. I spread it to within an inch of the edge of the tortilla, and I fried it with cooking spray. The results were more than satisfying. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
These are really pretty good. A perfect use for leftover mashed potatoes. My son gobbles them up. Don't make too many at once though because they are not very good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myka

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I didn't really care for this, but my son liked it. After reading the other reviews, I decided to add 2 tsp. of powdered ranch salad dressing to the potatoes for more flavor and used much less oil to fry them in. I've never had potato tacos before, and I didn't really like the combination of the corn tortilla and the potato. Liked the potato mixture with the ranch dressing, though, so might make that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Great idea!! I actually turned this idea into Shepherd's Pie tacos. They came out well, but I feel they would have tasted better baked after cooking in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serioussifl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was a good base recipe. I ended up adding a lot of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Very good. The potato mixture was mild and creamy, an unusual but satisfying texture to bite into. The tacos picked up the flavor of any sauce well, so we tried a variety of dips, including different hot sauces, dressings, and salsas. A great vegetarian alternative to Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States