Potato Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This tasted like a perogie--and it was delicious! I used leftover mashed potatoes and simply reheated them in the microwave with some shredded cheddar cheese. I spread it to within an inch of the edge of the tortilla, and I fried it with cooking spray. The results were more than satisfying. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
These were a great vegetarian alternative to beef tacos. I am not a big vegetarian fan but love potatoes. My husband ate about 3 of them while I was cooking them! I put them in toaster oven the next day to warm up the leftovers and they tasted like I just made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
These were so good and so easy to make. I did, however, have trouble with the corn tortillas wanting to tear in half after I folded them, even though they were at room temperature. I would recommend heating the tortillas first in the microwave or making these quesadilla-style and then cutting them in 1/2. I used a lot less oil than called for and just flipped them over. Thanks, Yvonne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
These are wonderful. I definitely make again. I just used Lefevre match potatoes and added cheese and green onions. It was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
It was soooooooooooo good!!! Will definiletly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
My wife and I always order potato tacos when we go to the garment district in downtown L.A . There suposed to be the best in L.A . Well these are better. For a guy who is just learning how to cook, these were so easy to make. Someone else suggested warming the tortillas in the microwave first to soften them. Well its true, the tacos did not fall apart when I was frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
These were easy and tasty! However, next time I will add some salt and pepper to the potato mixture. And while part of me would like to lighten these up by using low-fat cheese an alternative cooking method for the tortillas, another part of me is already thinking about how really excellent crumbled up bacon would be when added to the potato mixture. I will definitely be making/experimenting with these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Big hit! I made these for a high-school graduation party and they disappeared!! Great flavor and so easy to make using commercially available taco shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Delicious recipe. Both vegetarians and non-vegetarians will love this dish. I topped the tacos with shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes, spicy salsa, and light sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
These weren't quite as yummy as I was hoping. The potatoes needed a little more flavor, were a bit bland. If I were to make these again, I would add a little garlic, a little butter, lots of salt and pepper, and maybe even some chili powder to the potato mixture. The ranch dressing was good with them. I will try these again sometime, with just a few tweaks. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States