Potato Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I have made a different version of these many times, and thought I should try this new way, unfortunately I was not happy with the outcome. I usually smash the potatoes and add chicken broth and chopped cooked bell peppers with a little seasoning salt. On top we add lettuce tomatoes and jack cheese. This recipe did not compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
My mom made these when I was a kid & we loved em!! We always topped them like a reg taco. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
These were phenomenal! I used about 9 medium red potatoes and also added 1/2 a packet of powdered ranch dip as someone suggested earlier. For a dipping sauce I used peppercorn ranch dressing and for the second and third batch everyone wanted me to add tomatoes and lettuce then top it with the dressing rather than as a dip. It was so yummy, even the next day--I briefly nuked it then placed it in a toaster oven. This is definitely going on my list of things to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReignGoddess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I had tacos like these in Mexico and wanted to recreate them. I topped them like I had them there - sour cream, shredded carrots (sounds weird, but it totally makes the dish!) and hot sauce. My family was skeptical beforehand but loved them right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I enjoy these tacos. I add sides of sour cream, guacamole, salsa, red onions for dipping. I don't like the ranch salad dressing. But they are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoYo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
i was looking for a recipe for these because my host mom made them for me in Mexico. but these were way to greasy. i wonder if there is a way to cook them without the grease becuase i would like them better then. also the corn tortillas cracked when you folded them over or rolled them. my boyfriend liked them more though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
These are really pretty good. A perfect use for leftover mashed potatoes. My son gobbles them up. Don't make too many at once though because they are not very good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myka

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
My mother in law makes these! They sounded so blah to me, but they are so good. We don't use ranch, but instead top them with cabbage, tomato, cheese, cucumber, whatever fresh veggies you have. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These are great! Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Very good. The potato mixture was mild and creamy, an unusual but satisfying texture to bite into. The tacos picked up the flavor of any sauce well, so we tried a variety of dips, including different hot sauces, dressings, and salsas. A great vegetarian alternative to Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States