Potato Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly--too bland. Couldn't even get the kids to eat it, and they're usually a fan of bland foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I have had potato burritos before using left over boiled potatoes. Saute the left over potato chunks (may need to make them smaller), add salt/pepper to taste and a can of well drained chopped green chilies. Heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Long

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I thought they were ok. My family absolutely LOVED them especially my husband.. They were fun. Be very careful not to burn your mouth, They stay hot for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was different and easy! I made only two large baking potatoes and got four tacos out of it (with more than two tbsp of filling per taco.. that wouldn't be very much). I added butter to the mashed potato too and used a little less cheddar (I think, not positive since I didn't use the full amount of potatoes). I added onion powder and garlic powder to the potato mix too and it was still a little bland. I didn't have any toothpicks but I had no problem frying the tacos without them, they stayed together fine. I only fried in a small amount of oil though, to make them brown and crispy. Overall these were good but missing something... not sure what. Maybe more cheese not mixed into the potato? I needed a little more flavour. But I'd make them again and play around with the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Used this as a basic recipe. It was good! I used leftover mashed potatoes, saute'd onion, and cooked it like a grilled cheese rather than frying. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Followed the directions except for all the frying oil. I fried the tacos in very little oil...just enough to get them brown and a little crunchy. These are just okay, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Great idea!! I actually turned this idea into Shepherd's Pie tacos. They came out well, but I feel they would have tasted better baked after cooking in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serioussifl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Potato tacos are an old favorite in my family that I have not thought to make until I heard XrayBarb talking about them. Now I am all excited to make them, which I did. The kids were IN LOVE! This is a simple dish that is Simply Delicious! You can feed a boat load of people w/o breaking the bank YYAA. My kind of meal. Thank You Yvonne I will remember these and keep them in circulation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was a good base recipe. I ended up adding a lot of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Good starter recipe! If you buy good quality tortillas (look for the ones that come in a big pack, that's usually a giveaway) you won't need anything but a dry skillet to soften them. Try frying diced onions until soft, then add diced green chilies and cook for a few moments - add to potatoes for flavor. And, to reduce fat, roll up like flautas and bake until crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States