Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Try adding chorizo sausage to the mix. Adds a delicious spice with excellent taste amongst various additives such as celery and carrots for a bit of sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I thought it was ok, it needed some help...i added garlic with the onions... less chicken broth, more milk to make a creamier texture , salt & pepper to taste & a dash of oregano made it taste pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
very easy (or simple).first time I made it I had can cream of celery soup that I opened by mistake the day before, I put it in while mashing potatoes. I made a mistake that really worked great. now I add the celery soup every time I make. The whole family asks for it on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very basic potato soup. Too bland. But if you add chopped green onions right before you serve it tastes a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I altered this a recipe a little bit! Instead of using mashed potatoes, I used diced cooked potatoes. I also cooked the soup in the croc pot on high for 3 to 4 hours. For flavor I added dried basil, crushed red pepper, and a little garlic. If are you are going to used diced potatoes, after you cook the potato for a little bit, make sure you dice them into small pieces. That is one that I would change about what I did. Besides that, this homemade soup is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Extremely bland on it's own. This recipe requires quite a bit of doctoring to resemble anything close to an appetizing soup. I wish people would rate things based on the actual recipe not based on their additions to the recipe it would save people a lot of time and hassle of making a bad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was really good. Made it for a "sick" husband and he asked me to leave the onions out. He liked it. I had to thicken it up a little for him because he wanted me to use chunks instead of mashed potatoes. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is a great simple recipe. A few things I did differently, were, I used diced potatos,and I used red potatos with the skin on. Yum! Chunks of ham would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was amazing! And soo easy. I would of givin it 5 stars but I think the onions was a little much! I will use this recipe again but less onions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This soup is EXCELLENT. I added a few of my own spices (onion powder, parsley, etc.) but beyond that I followed the recipe pretty much as is and LOVED it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States