Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This recipe tastes like bland onion soup. If you want to try to doctor it up, it might be good. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Perfect for a snowy winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Very good recipe - I have never used carrots or onions and that is a nice addition. This was much healthier than my normal recipe. I did add some chopped ham to my recipe and used chopped potatoes instead of mashed potatoes. I like my potato soup chunky - it seems more filling. Thanks for the recipe, we are snowed in and needed a recipe with my on hand ingredients and also a way to use up my potatoes before they go bad. Thanks from Kentucky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Strong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Even though it was 80 degrees today, I made this soup pretty much as written and found it YUMMY! I probably used more onions than recipe but was a little nervous at the others' mention of 'bland'. I didn't put sour cream, bacon, cheese or any other additives so I could rate fairly and I LIKED it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This soup is very, very bland initially as other reviewers mentioned. I wish that there were more large potato chunks. I added three cloves of garlic, a bunch of black pepper and paprika, a little cayenne, parsley, and some parmesan cheese. This is a fun recipe if you like playing around with ingredients. My family loved it. Makes a great appetizer or lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I loved this simple recipe. Reading the comments always gives me ideas. I started w the onions and the butter....added a couple of chicken bouillon cubes and quartered small red potatoes(what I had on hand)..squished a garlic clove and dropped that in..some salt and pepper...zapped some bacon....added that ....and just let it simmer...mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Considering this soup starts with mashed potatoes, I think it's great for what it is. While I don't think anyone would confuse this for restaurant-style baked potato soup, it works beautifully in a pinch. First snow of the winter and my two oldest kids (8 & 7) wanted potato soup...this recipe fit the bill! I used veggie broth since I'm a vegetarian, and eyeballed the broth/milk amounts. I added freshly ground pepper and a ton of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Next time I will dice the onions instead of chop, but that's only for my kids' sake. I could see how bacon, sour cream, green onions, etc., would be great additions. Personally, I think one of the best aspects of this recipe is its flexibility. You can adapt it to your personal tastes or those of your family. A definite keeper! Will make this again for sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This was an excellent recipe. I added two strips of bacon cut up into small chunks and fried, 1 garlic clove minced fried with the onions, and 1/8 tsp parsley. My husband isn't a big soup person and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Bland. And no way can this serve 7
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I added shredded grilled chicken breast, and used garlic Dalton place of regular salt and it tastes amazing. I will definitely use this recipe a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States