Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a great starter recipe. I put a little garlic in with the onions, then add diced raw potato, leaving some chunks larger than others. Then put the potato in the sauce pan with the onion, salt and pepper them and let it fry a little so the potatoes get a nice flavor going. Then I add chicken broth and bring to a boil til the potatoes soften.Lastly the milk or cream whichever I have on hand. I always add bacon crumbles and garnish with shredded cheddar and a glop of sour cream. The only reason I don't give this recipe 5 stars is I think it needs another seasoning but I haven't quite figured out what yet. My picky husband asks me to make this all the time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is a great Recipe I made it for my family the only thing i did diffrent was instead of plain chicken broth I drained a can of Campbells Chicken noodle soup and used it it was amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Delicious as it was, it was missing something. Adding some sort of meat, like bits of bacon or ham makes this already good meal even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KoRRuPtd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I always have creative ideas for food but I don't know the basics of cooking. This recipe gave me a great start and I added a load of other ingredients to it to make a spicy, curried soup with shallots, garlic, carrots, curry, cayenne, paprika and lots of other ingredients! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was so good, we added a pound of bacon and omited the butter to fry the onions and just fried them in the bacon grease before discarding the grease. My husband decided this was the best soup he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I had made twice baked potatos for a potluck and had a couple left over. I used the filling from the twice baked potatos instead of plain mashed potatos. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
The first time I made this for my family, my grandmother told me that I could "make potato soup" for her anytime. Coming from a 40-year experienced (and might I add excellent) cook, that is really saying something! :-) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Very easy and very tasty! Perfect comfort food. I added a bit more milk and let it simmer a while to really let the flavours blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Makes a lovely thick soup which can be thinned down, a little bland but a perfect opportunity to add your favourite seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States