Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
pretty good! I added chopped cooked bacon and a few frozen peas, that gave it a little more flavour and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I thought this soup was great. Ive made i a couple times now and added a few things of my own. Bacon, italian sausage and green onions were some things i added. The bacon was pan fried and the sausage was rolled into small meatballs and cooked in a small pot with the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very good soup! I didn't have any leftover potatoes and used the instant instead. Followed the recipe pretty close, did put in some carrots for a little color and about a half pound of bacon that I crisped up in the microwave using a "BaconWave" Love it! Sprinkled a little cheddar on top of the soup in the bowl. I'll be sad when the leftovers are gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was great, however, I added a can of cream of celery soup. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Yummy and super quick. This recipe is a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes. Perfect for a dreary mid-west Sunday afternoon! Gratzi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
So simple, so easy, so good!! My mother is a gormet cook and she has always had a problem making the right potato soup. I, who cannot cook at all in her eyes, made this for lunch during a visit and she said it was the best potato soup she had ever had. My change was a lot of pepper for a kick, and I added ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
BEST potato soup for an extremely picky fiance! :) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I wanted to fix an easy soup on a cool day and this recipe was it!! It was so easy to make. I left the milk out and added garlic salt, salt and pepper. It was delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was very good. Comfort food if I've ever seen it. I left it thick. I think next time I will thin it out a bit and leave more potato chunks as well as add carrots and celery. My daughter loved this and she is a hard one to please. I too added garlic when sauteeing the onions and it was the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPROC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
In its purest form, this soup is really bland, but I give it 4/5 because it is SO easy to make adjustments and add in your favorite ingredients to make amazing soup! Even though I "halved" the recipe, the only ingredient I really measured out was the butter; I eyeballed the rest of the ingredients until I got the very thick texture that I like with my soups. I melted the butter, than added the onions as prescribed, but I also added a bit of minced garlic from a jar. When everything was yellow and tender, I threw in some chopped carrots and a bit of chopped celery, then I added roughly 3 cups of leftover mashed potatoes, stirred everything around for a minute, then added less than 1/4 cup of milk. I barely used half a jar of chicken broth, but then again, I like my soups really thick! I added salt and pepper, as well as a tablespoon or so of Old Bay and the smallest dashes of basil and chili powder. When I tasted it, I was like, "Holy , this is surprisingly awesome!" So I added some leftover cooked corn I had in the fridge and a hearty helping of cheddar cheese as I turned the heat down on my stove. The end result was at least 4 servings of really delicious, hearty soup! Again, you may have to make adjustments to this recipe so it isn't "bland," but the base is a great start, and I plan on using this every time I have leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States