Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was great, however, I added a can of cream of celery soup. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Yummy and super quick. This recipe is a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes. Perfect for a dreary mid-west Sunday afternoon! Gratzi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
So simple, so easy, so good!! My mother is a gormet cook and she has always had a problem making the right potato soup. I, who cannot cook at all in her eyes, made this for lunch during a visit and she said it was the best potato soup she had ever had. My change was a lot of pepper for a kick, and I added ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
BEST potato soup for an extremely picky fiance! :) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I wanted to fix an easy soup on a cool day and this recipe was it!! It was so easy to make. I left the milk out and added garlic salt, salt and pepper. It was delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was very good. Comfort food if I've ever seen it. I left it thick. I think next time I will thin it out a bit and leave more potato chunks as well as add carrots and celery. My daughter loved this and she is a hard one to please. I too added garlic when sauteeing the onions and it was the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPROC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
In its purest form, this soup is really bland, but I give it 4/5 because it is SO easy to make adjustments and add in your favorite ingredients to make amazing soup! Even though I "halved" the recipe, the only ingredient I really measured out was the butter; I eyeballed the rest of the ingredients until I got the very thick texture that I like with my soups. I melted the butter, than added the onions as prescribed, but I also added a bit of minced garlic from a jar. When everything was yellow and tender, I threw in some chopped carrots and a bit of chopped celery, then I added roughly 3 cups of leftover mashed potatoes, stirred everything around for a minute, then added less than 1/4 cup of milk. I barely used half a jar of chicken broth, but then again, I like my soups really thick! I added salt and pepper, as well as a tablespoon or so of Old Bay and the smallest dashes of basil and chili powder. When I tasted it, I was like, "Holy , this is surprisingly awesome!" So I added some leftover cooked corn I had in the fridge and a hearty helping of cheddar cheese as I turned the heat down on my stove. The end result was at least 4 servings of really delicious, hearty soup! Again, you may have to make adjustments to this recipe so it isn't "bland," but the base is a great start, and I plan on using this every time I have leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I've made it 2x. This is a great basic, comfort Potato Soup. Sometimes that's what you want out of a Potato Soup. Not a fusion of flavors - plain can be good! If you want loaded baked potato flavors try the Baked Potato Soup recipe (*****). We really liked this basic recipe. It was nice to use left over mashed potatoes this way. We intended to make the soup with left overs and have it for work lunches. It was so good we had it for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
My family loves this recipe and it is so easy. When we are in the mood for a bit of spice, I add green chilis, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Very yummy. I used potato flakes to make the mashed potatoes which was very inexpensive. I substituted veggie broth since I'm vegetarian and also added some cubed potatoes. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States