Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great base, but I gave it four stars because I made a few changes. 1. Instead of mashed potatoes, I just cut up 5 - 6 potatoes in chunks. 2. I added some diced garlic (canned). 3. I added 5 or 6 slices of cooked beef bacon, diced small. 1. I added a few more seasoning. However, the base was really what I needed. I cooked this in a slow cooker on high for 3 hours. Then I took a potato masher and went over it a couple times (leaving most of the potatoes in chunks, but mashing a lot to give it a textured consistency). I then cooked it on low for another 2 hours. The results were amazing and I will definitely be making this recipe a lot this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is a great base soup. I added ham with the onions, then drained the excess water, added the potato's to the pot and stired. What really made this dish for my family was, the crushed funions, chives, shredded colby jack cheese and sour cream topping. Optional bacon bits as well. It was a nice hit durint the cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Tried it as written and turned out great. I made my mashed potatoes as I normally do (leaving the skins on, the same seasonings and a bit lumpy) and the consistency came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAANN30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
My family loved this soup. I made it exactly as the reciepe said. Quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Simple and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Exactly what it says it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Very, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I good basic recipe. A little heavy on the onions for me, next time I think I will chop them finer or simple have the amount I used. The back bone of it is the mashed potatoes. You HAVE to have good mashed potatoes or it wont work well. I think I'll try bacon and bacon grease in it next time, or maybe ham or. this seems like a great recipe to put in little extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My husband is going through detox and he needs things soft and easy on his stomach. He loved it. He said the taste was great and it really helped with settling his stomach. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Climax, Georgia, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Will make this again, I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHES28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States