Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I altered this a recipe a little bit! Instead of using mashed potatoes, I used diced cooked potatoes. I also cooked the soup in the croc pot on high for 3 to 4 hours. For flavor I added dried basil, crushed red pepper, and a little garlic. If are you are going to used diced potatoes, after you cook the potato for a little bit, make sure you dice them into small pieces. That is one that I would change about what I did. Besides that, this homemade soup is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Extremely bland on it's own. This recipe requires quite a bit of doctoring to resemble anything close to an appetizing soup. I wish people would rate things based on the actual recipe not based on their additions to the recipe it would save people a lot of time and hassle of making a bad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was really good. Made it for a "sick" husband and he asked me to leave the onions out. He liked it. I had to thicken it up a little for him because he wanted me to use chunks instead of mashed potatoes. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is a great simple recipe. A few things I did differently, were, I used diced potatos,and I used red potatos with the skin on. Yum! Chunks of ham would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was amazing! And soo easy. I would of givin it 5 stars but I think the onions was a little much! I will use this recipe again but less onions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This soup is EXCELLENT. I added a few of my own spices (onion powder, parsley, etc.) but beyond that I followed the recipe pretty much as is and LOVED it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Im craving potato soup & this is the recipe I'm using. LOVE simple recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
First time ever making potato soup and it was a HUGE hit. Everyone ages 5-36 loved it. Only thing I did different was left out the onion (none of us are huge fans of them..), and cut up 5 potatoes and boiled them until softened before adding the mashed potatoes so it would go farther and be more filling. Was nice having such a light yet filling meal combined. Will be making this over and over! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Love this ! So simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Loved it! Added some cheese and extra seasoning (garlic, salt and pepper). Also did what some suggested as to adding some cubes of potatoe. Family loved it - even my husband who is NOT a soup person. Next time I will add some crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit4TheKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States