Potato Soup with Spinach Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I had alot of fresh spinach from my garden that I wanted to use, so I substituted 6 cups chopped fresh spinach for the 10 ounce package of frozen. I microwaved it for a few minutes to wilt it. The dumplings wouldn't hold together until I added some water to the dumpling mixture. My husband and daughter loved it. Great way to get kids to eat their spinach. We liked it as written but I love to experiment and so will add other veggies and spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Genoa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crescent, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
i accidentally used a whole egg and the dumplings melted. would that make a difference? the soup was delicious though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
The dumplings turned to mush within minutes of going into the broth. I even used two egg whites based on the advice of other reviews. Besides that one alteration, I followed the recipe exactly. This was a waste of an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmw384
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Used the spinach balls(with 1 egg+garlic salt&pepper) in a cream of mushroom+ 11 vegetable soup(with a lil dried chilli flakes for heat). i used quite a pan with a wide bottom for more surface area and dropped the dumplings into the bubbling soup and simmered for 15 mins without any breakage...tasted real good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
the dumplings melted. We went out for pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is really easy to make and turns out great. I dumped in a package of sliced mushrooms and then after the dumplings cooked I set them aside and pureed the whole thing to make a really thick tasty soup. I then put the dumplings back in. I've made it twice now already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Made these dumplings in a vege soup they were good but I had to add more egg to keep them from falling apart also some garlic powder they went well with the flavors of the vegetable soup will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I added more vegetables to the soup (sweet potatoes, yellow and green zucchini, Lima beans, corn, carrots and fennel to make it into a hearty vegetable soup. I made the dumplings twice - the first one I made according to the recipe - I felt the crumbs were a bit to dry and wouldn't hold together in a ball, so I added the yolk. After these cooked through, they were almost like matzo balls, but more dense and they did fall apart a bit. I made a second batch - using matzo meal instead of the bread crumbs and I liked them much better. I also needed to add the yolk to the matzo meal-spinach mixture, but the dumplings stayed together and did not fall apart. If I make this again - I would season the dumplings to add more flavor - they were pretty bland and didn't absorb much flavor from the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I loved it! The soup would have been great, awesome on its own...the dumplings were a whole new dimension. Yum! My dumplings did fall apart a little but they were so tasty I really didn't care. Followed the recipe to a T, it's awesome, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Good flavor however spinach balls did not stay formed.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States