Potato Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I'm always looking for something new and different to try for dinner and I came across this recipe by chance and decided to make it... I have little ones so I did have to modify it a bit. I substituted the onions with carrots, halved the ground pepper and used garlic salt for the other half, added some fresh herbs, had the hot pepper on the side, and grated a little sharp cheddar on the top before serving. So I guess you could say that I made potato soup with a thump and not a kick, but it was still wonderful! Even my two year old who's going through the mac 'n' cheese with hot dogs phase loved it, so thanks Ann for sharing the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
My daughter and her friend made this one day because they were bored. Well, I am glad they did because I have made this soup over and over again. I changed the tomatoes to diced and added a 14 1/2 oz can of sauce. Everyone LOVES this recipe especially on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I actually would give this 4 1/2 stars if I could. This was surprisingly tasty and very easy to make. I made some minor changes, namely sauteeing a finely chopped celery stalk and 2 cloves of garlic along with the onion, and using less hot sauce. My picky husband eyed this with great suspicion but then helped himself to seconds. Great with some fresh bread on a cold winter night and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Great!! I did add a little garlic and chili powder. Other than that, it was sooo good on a cold day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Very good! I'm a wimp and don't like spicy food so I let my husband put the hot sauce in his own bowl and we both loved it. It was so quick and easy to make, with ingredients I already had. Thank you Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Great stew/soup! It's really more like a thick vegetable beef soup than a potato soup, but the taste is fantastic! I prepared it just as stated and mashed the potatoes a bit in the saucepan towards the end. The longer it cooks, the thicker it gets. Our house smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Surprisingly good considering the simple ingredients. I didn't have any hot sauce and so substituted 1/3 tsp cayenne pepper. Mashed some of the potatoes towards the end of cooking. Very comforting in cold weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was a great dairy-free potato soup for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I'm going to rate this even though I probably changed it enough to qualify for another soup:) It was a nice base recipe though and I followed the technique so... the only changes I made were to use a quart of beef broth instead of water, and I added chopped kale. I think the kale really made it for me, adding some additional nutrition color and texture. Without it, I'm not I would have liked this so much. I also added about 1 tsp. of dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
My husband loved this! I added a little more hot sauce, but other than that, this was great!! Definately worth making again since he is a meat & potatoes kinda guy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States