Potato Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I'm going to rate this even though I probably changed it enough to qualify for another soup:) It was a nice base recipe though and I followed the technique so... the only changes I made were to use a quart of beef broth instead of water, and I added chopped kale. I think the kale really made it for me, adding some additional nutrition color and texture. Without it, I'm not I would have liked this so much. I also added about 1 tsp. of dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Great basic recipe, but it needs a little additional seasoning. I added some garlic and onion powders as well as a little beef bouillon. Next time I'll add more veggies. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iamamommy
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
We loved it. I'll probably put a few less potatoes in next time, but it will definitely be made again in our house! My husband said it reminded him of his grandmother's "pigs in a blanket" (a.k.a. Polish stuffed cabbage)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
We took over reviewers suggestions and increased the hot sauce because we like spicy foods. Unfortunately all we tasted was the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Really liked this soup, but made some additions. Added sliced carrots and some diced green pepper. Also added little orzo about 12 minutes before I wanted it to be ready. I used leftover pizza sauce, diced tomatoes, and water for the base. Served with a handful of shredded cheddar on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I really enjoyed this. It has ingredients that I usually have on hand so it's super easy to throw together on those crazy day. Loved the spicy kick. I gave it 4 stars because my husband wasn't as crazy about it as I was, but he still thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikieSue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This recipe is very unique and healthy , i recomend it for anybody thats a soup freak! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saja .R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This soup was GREAT! Easy to make and very yummy. I followed the recipe except adding a little extra hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Great stew/soup! It's really more like a thick vegetable beef soup than a potato soup, but the taste is fantastic! I prepared it just as stated and mashed the potatoes a bit in the saucepan towards the end. The longer it cooks, the thicker it gets. Our house smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is good soup. It does have a little bit of a kick, but if you're used to spicy foods then you're probably going to want to add more hot sauce so you can really feel the heat. I like that fact that this recipe uses common ingredients that are in nearly everyone's pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Daycare Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States